Colección de Referencia y Revistas: Recursos electrónicos para usar como referencia

Continuing globalization has meant the increased development and importance of regional and international trade organizations and trade agreements. This Dictionary provides a background to the historical development of such systems, as well as giving a global overview of the current situation.

This Dictionary offers a fresh, up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in discussion of the political system.Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area. The Dictionary also raises key issues and areas of contention and academic debate.Coverage is comprehensive, with c.400 entries, each providing analysis of the subject. Terms are presented in an A-Z format with cross-referencing where appropriate.

The Dictionary of Labour Biography has an outstanding reputation as a reference work for the study of nineteenth and twentieth century British history.

"This Dictionary of Weighing Terms is a comprehensive practical guide to the terminology of weighing for all users of weighing instruments in industry and science. It explains more than 1000 terms associated with weighing technology and related areas; numerous illustrations assist understanding. The Dictionary of Weighing Terms is a joint work of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) (the German Federal Institute of Physics and Metrology) and METTLER TOLEDO, the weighing instruments manufacturer." --Book Jacket

Contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 700 cross-referenced entries on terms related to nuclear, biological and chemical warfare."--Provided by publisher.

The Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Economy contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on critical sectors of the economy including automobiles, banking and finance, national currency, economic regulation, trade and investment.

This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the United Nations contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,000 cross-referenced entries on its basic organizations, subsidiary bodies, related specialized and other agencies, and nongovernmental actors as well as outstanding figures in its history. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the United Nations.

The Historical Dictionary of United States-Caribbean Relations contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.

Contains entries written by the world s most influential economists, including 36 Nobel Laureates. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European Union and beyond, health economics and the economics of the Internet. With over 3,000 individual articles, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.

Peter Martin recounts the patriotic fervor in the early American republic to produce a definitive national dictionary that would rival Samuel Johnson’s 1755 Dictionary of the English Language. But what began as a cultural war of independence from Britain devolved into a battle among lexicographers, authors, scholars, and publishers, all vying for dictionary supremacy and shattering forever the dream of a unified American language.

This book focuses on legal concepts from the dual perspective of law and terminology. While legal concepts frame legal knowledge and take center stage in law, the discipline of terminology has traditionally been about concept description. Exploring topics common to both disciplines such as meaning, conceptualization and specialized knowledge transfer, the book gives a state-of-the-art account of legal interpretation, legal translation and legal lexicography with special emphasis on EU law.