Ir al contenido principal
Lee lo más reciente adquirido por tu biblioteca. Aquí colocaremos uno o dos libros recientemente adquiridos. Pueden ser ebooks o libros impresos. Disfrútalos.
The Planner's Use of Information Por
Fecha de publicación: 2019-08-28
For more than 35 years, planners have depended on The Planner's Use of Information to help them address their information needs. While the ability to manage complex information skillfully remains central to the practice of planning, the variety and quantity of information have ballooned in the last two decades. The methods of accessing and handling information--although often ultimately easier and faster--require new technical savvy. At the same time, planners themselves, and the constituents they serve, have changed. This completely revised and updated third edition of this popular book will serve the new generation of planners who work in a world where social media, cell phones, community-embedded development, and a changing population have revolutionized the practice of planning. Edited again by Hemalata C. Dandekar, with chapters by leading experts in data collection, analysis, presentation, and management, The Planner's Use of Information empowers practitioners to use and address the impacts of twenty-first-century technologies. The book offers a range of methods for addressing many kinds of information needs in myriad situations. It is an invaluable day-to-day resource for practicing planners and an ideal classroom text for courses in planning communication and analytical methods. Illustrations, real-life examples, cartoons, exercises, bibliographies, and lists of online resources enrich the text.
GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management Por
Fecha de publicación: 2018-12-07
The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.tandfebooks.com/doi/view/10.1201/9781315146638, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 3.0 license. GIS is used today to better understand and solve urban problems. GIS in Sustainable Urban Planning and Management: A Global Perspective, explores and illustrates the capacity that geo-information and GIS have to inform practitioners and other participants in the processes of the planning and management of urban regions. The first part of the book addresses the concept of sustainable urban development, its different frameworks, the many ways of measuring sustainability, and its value in the urban policy arena. The second part discusses how urban planning can shape our cities, examines various spatial configurations of cities, the spread of activities, and the demands placed on different functions to achieve strategic objective. It further focuses on the recognition that urban dwellers are increasingly under threat from natural hazards and climate change. Written by authors with expertise on the applications of geo-information in urban management, this book showcases the importance of GIS in better understanding current urban challenges and provides new insights on how to apply GIS in urban planning. It illustrates through real world cases the use of GIS in analyzing and evaluating the position of disadvantaged groups and areas in cities and provides clear examples of applied GIS in urban sustainability and urban resilience. The idea of sustainable development is still very much central in the new development agenda of the United Nations, and in that sense, it is of particular importance for students from both the Global South and Global North. Professionals, researchers, and students alike will find this book to be an invaluable resource for understanding and solving problems relating to sustainable urban planning and management.
Masterplanning the Adaptive City Por
Fecha de publicación: 2013-10-08
Computational design has become widely accepted into mainstream architecture, but this is the first book to advocate applying it to create adaptable masterplans for rapid urban growth, urban heterogeneity, through computational urbanism. Practitioners and researchers here discuss ideas from the fields of architecture, urbanism, the natural sciences, computer science, economics, and mathematics to find solutions for managing urban change in Asia and developing countries throughout the world. Divided into four parts (historical and theoretical background, our current situation, methodologies, and prototypical practices), the book includes a series of essays, interviews, built case studies, and original research to accompany chapters written by editor Tom Verebes to give you the most comprehensive overview of this approach. Essays by Marina Lathouri, Jorge Fiori, Jonathan Solomon, Patrik Schumacher, Peter Trummer, and David Jason Gerber. Interviews with Dana Cuff, Xu Wei Guo, Matthew Prior, Tom Barker, Su Yunsheng, and Brett Steele. Built case studies by Zaha Hadid Architects, James Corner Field Operations, XWG Studio, MAD, OCEAN Consultancy Network, Plasma Studio, Groundlab, Peter Trummer, Serie Architects, dotA, and Rocker-Lange Architects.
Why Plan? Por
Fecha de publicación: 2020-01-23
Why do we plan? Who decides how and where we plan and what we should value? How do theories and ideologies filter down into real policies and plans that affect our lives? Written in a deliberately practitioner-friendly manner, this useful guide answers these questions and reveals planning theories to be simply new ideas that can help us see the world differently. Thinking about them enables us to take a step back to appreciate the wider context. The guide discusses the value of planning; how planning rationale has changed over time; and whether we have too much, too little, or just the wrong kind of planning. It then sets out twenty-five key concepts central to professional practice, ranging from participation and complexity to post-politics and state theory, from risk and resilience to governmentality, from assemblage to ecosystems and sustainability.
Techniques and Methods in Urban Remote Sensing Por
Fecha de publicación: 2019-11-26
An authoritative guide to the essential techniques and most recent advances in urban remote sensing Techniques and Methods in Urban Remote Sensing offers a comprehensive guide to the recent theories, methods, techniques, and applications in urban remote sensing. Written by a noted expert on the subject, this book explores the requirements for mapping impervious surfaces and examines the issue of scale. The book covers a range of topics and includes illustrative examples of commonly used methods for estimating and mapping urban impervious surfaces, explains how to determine urban thermal landscape and surface energy balance, and offers information on impacts of urbanization on land surface temperature, water quality, and environmental health. Techniques and Methods in Urban Remote Sensing brings together in one volume the latest opportunities for combining ever-increasing computational power, more plentiful and capable data, and more advanced algorithms. This allows the technologies of remote sensing and GIS to become mature and to gain wider and better applications in environments, ecosystems, resources, geosciences, geography and urban studies. This important book: Contains a comprehensive resource to the latest developments in urban remote sensing Explains urban heat islands modeling and analysis Includes information on estimating urban surface energy fluxes Offers a guide to generating data on land surface temperature Written for professionals and students of environmental, ecological, civic and urban studies, Techniques and Methods in Urban Remote Sensing meets the demand for an updated resource that addresses the recent advances urban remote sensing.
Sustainable Urbanism in Digital Transitions Por
Fecha de publicación: 2019-08-14
This book examines how contemporary urbanism is influenced by digital and low carbon transitions. From its infancy at the scale of individual buildings, a focus on 'green' agenda, energy, and resource efficiency has fostered research and policies for low carbon cities, eco-cities, and increasingly intelligent and smarter urban systems. Cities around the world are getting 'smarter' as more advanced technology is integrated into urban planning and design. People are relying more on digital and information and communication technology (ICT) in their daily lives, while cities are adopting more digital technology to monitor and gather information about people and their environment. This leads to Big Data collection, which is used to inform governance and improve urban performance. These transformations, however, raise critical questions, including whether emerging smart sustainable cities are too technocratic, but also with regard to citizen involvement. This brief addresses these important contemporary concerns through a review of literature and existing urban strategies. It should be of interest to everyone involved in advancing sustainable cities and smart cities. It should also be a relevant read for students and researchers in this area.
Strategic Planning for Urban Transportation Por
Fecha de publicación: 2020-03-13
This book focuses on the adoption of a Dynamic Performance Management (DPM) approach to support the planning and management of urban transportation systems. DPM allows one to embrace a dynamic and systemic perspective and, as a result, to frame the contribution of different stakeholders, in terms of outcome-based performance, at an inter-institutional level. The discussed DPM approach allows one to focus on the causal relationships and feedback processes that characterize urban transportation systems' governance. Particularly, through the adoption of such an approach, it is possible to identify outcome-based performance measures that help to monitor and drive the governance network toward the creation of public value for the reference communities. Strategic Planning for Urban Transportation: A Dynamic Performance Management Approach begins with an examination of urban transportation, highlighting the main criticalities and future challenges of managing it. Next, the book examines the governance of urban transportation including how to identify and engage stakeholders. Finally, the book introduces the main application of DPM and system dynamics to urban areas, with specific regards to transportation. The framework is outlined, and a case study is provided as a practical example of how to apply the model. This book should be useful to urban transportation decision-makers at both the managerial and political level.
Security, Resilience and Planning Por
Fecha de publicación: 2020-04-17
This book offers key concepts and practical guidance about the planner's role in countering terrorist risk. Public safety and security has always been a fundamental premise of successful public spaces and a material consideration in planning processes, but especially so since the events of 9/11. The most recent attacks in Berlin, Nice, Stockholm, London, Melbourne, Barcelona, New York, and elsewhere have led to a re-evaluation of security in many public locations. In these uncertain times, planners are increasingly seen as key stakeholders in national security and counter-terrorism endeavors, where the spatial configuration and aesthetic design of protective security interventions will have a crucial impact upon the vibrancy, resilience, and safety of urban centers both now and in the future. Illustrated with historic and contemporary international case studies, this book discusses many topics, including: the changing roles and responsibilities of planning, how security is increasingly becoming a statutory consideration in the planning process, the need for planners to engage with a range non-traditional stakeholders to facilitate better planning outcomes, the importance of planning in national and global politics, the ethics of planning decision-making, the importance of determining what is in the public interest, how to advance proportionate counter-terrorist security in plans that balance effectiveness with social and cultural factors, and the role of training and regulation in enforcing or encouraging the fulfillment of planning requirements.
Order Without Design Por
Fecha de publicación: 2018-11-09
An argument that operational urban planning can be improved by the application of the tools of urban economics to the design of regulations and infrastructure. Urban planning is a craft learned through practice. Planners make rapid decisions that have an immediate impact on the ground--the width of streets, the minimum size of land parcels, the heights of buildings. The language they use to describe their objectives is qualitative--"sustainable," "livable," "resilient"--often with no link to measurable outcomes. Urban economics, on the other hand, is a quantitative science, based on theories, models, and empirical evidence largely developed in academic settings. In this book, the eminent urban planner Alain Bertaud argues that applying the theories of urban economics to the practice of urban planning would greatly improve both the productivity of cities and the welfare of urban citizens. Bertaud explains that markets provide the indispensable mechanism for cities' development. He cites the experience of cities without markets for land or labor in pre-reform China and Russia; this "urban planners' dream" created inefficiencies and waste. Drawing on five decades of urban planning experience in forty cities around the world, Bertaud links cities' productivity to the size of their labor markets; argues that the design of infrastructure and markets can complement each other; examines the spatial distribution of land prices and densities; stresses the importance of mobility and affordability; and critiques the land use regulations in a number of cities that aim at redesigning existing cities instead of just trying to alleviate clear negative externalities. Bertaud concludes by describing the new role that joint teams of urban planners and economists could play to improve the way cities are managed.
Handbook of Research on Digital Research Methods and Architectural Tools in Urban Planning and Design Por
Fecha de publicación: 2019-06-28
The efficient usage, investigation, and promotion of new methods, tools, and technologies within the field of architecture, particularly in urban planning and design, is becoming more critical as innovation holds the key to cities becoming smarter and ultimately more sustainable. In response to this need, strategies that can potentially yield more realistic results are continually being sought. The Handbook of Research on Digital Research Methods and Architectural Tools in Urban Planning and Design is a critical reference source that comprehensively covers the concepts and processes of more than 20 new methods in both planning and design in the field of architecture and aims to explain the ways for researchers to apply these methods in their works. Pairing innovative approaches alongside traditional research methods, the physical dimensions of traditional and new cities are addressed in addition to the non-physical aspects and applied models that are currently under development in new settlements such as sustainable cities, smart cities, creative cities, and intercultural cities. Featuring a wide range of topics such as built environment, urban morphology, and city information modeling, this book is essential for researchers, academicians, professionals, technology developers, architects, engineers, and policymakers.
From Mobility to Accessibility Por
Fecha de publicación: 2019-11-15
In From Mobility to Accessibility, an expert team of researchers flips the tables on the standard models for evaluating regional transportation performance. Jonathan Levine, Joe Grengs, and Louis A. Merlin argue for an "accessibility shift" whereby transportation planning, and the transportation dimensions of land-use planning, would be based on people's ability to reach destinations, rather than on their ability to travel fast. Existing models for planning and evaluating transportation, which have taken vehicle speeds as the most important measure, would make sense if movement were the purpose of transportation. But it is the ability to reach destinations, not movement per se, that people seek from their transportation systems. While the concept of accessibility has been around for the better part of a century, From Mobility to Accessibility shows that the accessibility shift is compelled by the fundamental purpose of transportation. The book argues that the shift would be transformative to the practice of both transportation and land-use planning but is impeded by many conceptual obstacles regarding the nature of accessibility and its potential for guiding development of the built environment. By redefining success in transportation, the book provides city planners, decisionmakers, and scholars a path to reforming the practice of transportation and land-use planning in modern cities and metropolitan areas.
Coastal Cities and Their Sustainable Future II Por
Fecha de publicación: 2017-07-25
Papers presented at the 2nd International Conference on Coastal Cities and their Sustainable Future are contained in this volume. Since its successful introduction in 2015 the conference has continued to attract important research covering the integrated management and sustainable development of coastal cities.An increased world population and the preference for living in coastal regions has resulted in their ever-growing expansion. Whilst this creates economic growth, it also increases the need for improved resources, infrastructure and services.Coastal cities should be considered as dynamic complex systems which need energy, water, food and other resources in order to work and produce diverse activities, with the aim of offering a socioeconomic climate and improved quality of life. Consequently the integrated management and sustainable development of coastal cities is essential with science, technology, architecture, socio-economics and planning all collaborating to support decision makers. Planners need to explore various options and models to forecast future services, plans and solutions.Included papers examine some of these possible models and potential solutions with emphasis in the areas of: Landscape and urban planning; Infrastructures and eco-architecture; City heritage and regeneration; Urban transport and communications; Commercial ports; Fishing and sports harbours; City-Waterfront interaction; Marine industries; Water resources management; Quality of life and city leisure; Tourism and the city; Water pollution; Air pollution; City waste management; Acoustical and thermal pollution; Coastal risk assessment; Coastal flooding; Coastal processes; Landslides; Socio-economic issues.
Children and Planning Por
Fecha de publicación: 2020-02-07
Planning is central to ensuring that children and young people live in safe and secure places, and that they are included and can be active. There are few aspects of planners' work that do not directly impact children, from designing city centers, to implementing policies that will minimize the environmental effects of industrial practices. The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (1989) requires planners to consider children in matters affecting them and affirms that they have the right to be heard on such matters, and there is a consensus that it is important to attempt to engage children and young people in the planning process. The main question is, how? This book provides a range of international case studies illustrating good practice. It offers a variety of tools and techniques that have proved to be successful and discusses the work that needs to be done to enable planners to respond more effectively. It identifies key areas of concern with reference to the built environment and, more precisely, to planning theory and practice.
Metropolitan Transportation Planning Por
Fecha de publicación: 2018-06-27
Planning at a metropolitan scale is important for effective management of urban growth, transportation systems, air quality, and watershed and green-spaces. It is fundamental to efforts to promote social justice and equity. Best Practices in Metropolitan Transportation Planning shows how the most innovative metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs) in the United States are addressing these issues using their mandates to improve transportation networks while pursuing emerging sustainability goals at the same time. As both a policy analysis and a practical how-to guide, this book presents cutting-edge original research on the role accessibility plays - and should play - in transportation planning, tracks how existing plans have sought to balance competing priorities using scenario planning and other strategies, assesses the results of various efforts to reduce automobile dependence in cities, and explains how to make planning documents more powerful and effective. In highlighting the most innovative practices implemented by MPOs, regional planning councils, city and county planning departments and state departments of transportation, this book aims to influence other planning organizations, as well as influence federal and state policy discussions and legislation.
PO Box 23302, Ave. Ponce de León San Juan PR, 00931
Comisión Estatal de Elecciones CEE-SA-2020-3538
Aprobado por la Comisión Estatal de Elecciones y el número de radicación correspondiente