What is MLA 9?

MLA 9 is the 9th edition of an academic style guide produced by the Modern Language Association, a professional organization focused on language, literature, and other humanities disciplines. The MLA Handbook exists to maintain consistency in academic writing and direct readers to sources used in academic papers. 

What is new in the 9th edition?

The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook contains several key differences from previous editions, including

• guidance on using inclusive language
• recommendations for avoiding plagarism
• expanded examples of works cited entries
• guidelines for formatting a research paper

For more on what's new in MLA 9, visit the MLA Style Center or consult the MLA Handbook. 

Who uses MLA?

MLA is primarily used in humanities disciplines, such as English, languages, literature, and cultural studies.

If you need more assistance with writing, research, and/or formatting, the following resources may be helpful to you. Of course, the most comprehensive authority on MLA 9 is the MLA Handbook, 9th Edition, itself. Check the library catalog to see where the MLA Handbook, 9th Edition is available. 

Helpful Websites

• MLA Style Center contains information on citing sources and formatting writing, as well as lists of frequently asked questions.  
  • Specifically within the MLA Style Center
    • Citations by Format, a list of examples of sources in a Works Cited list
    •  Interactive Practice Template, a practice tool for becoming familiar with the elements of an MLA citation 
    • Works Cited: A Quick Guide, a tool that visually shows the different elements of a citation
    • Ask the MLA, a list of frequently asked questions about MLA style, as well as a place to submit questions for the MLA    
• The Purdue OWL is an online resource with information on using MLA, as well as other major style guides. Purdue OWL also provides information on avoiding plagiarism, writing within various academic disciplines, and other topics related to writing. 

Electronic book in the databases of the UPR Library System

• Nobis, Mitchell, et al. Real Writing : Modernizing the Old School Essay, Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2016. ProQuest Ebook Central,
  https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/uprrp-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4710217.
  

Writing Modules

• Explore the resources and modules at Centro para el Desarrollo de Competencias Lingüísticas, de la Facultad de Estudios Generales

Get Help from a Librarian

• Submit a question and get a response from a librarian in about 48 hours. This page also contains lists of frequently and recently asked questions. 

Practice Tools

Want to practice your MLA 9 skills? The MLA Style Center has an Interactive Practice Template that is useful for understanding the parts of a citation. This interactive practice tool from Excelsior College also provides opportunities to practice working with MLA style.