Los libros que aparecen en esta seción son solo una muestra, no representan la totalidad de los ebooks adquiridos por el Sistema de Bibliotecas. Revisa la sección previa que indica nuevas adquisiciones así como la sección en la que se explica las tres maneras en las que puedes identificar y acceder ebooks desde el Portal del Sistema de Bibiotecas.
Adaptive Administration Por
Adaptive Administration: Practice Strategies for Dealing with Constant Change in Public Administration and Policy interprets the critical issues facing the field of public administration today and describes how new approaches to theory and practice have the potential to redesign the field. It will provide you with new strategies for understanding and adapting to the constant change taking place today in public administration and policy. Features: Supports faculty in presenting in their classes new approaches to the field Helps students better understand the concepts and relevance of the field they are studying Provides a means for practitioners to apply more effective approaches to real-world problem solving Enables theory developers to explore new avenues of study Assists professionals from many different fields in better understanding the significance and value of public administration This book develops a unified approach to theory and practice in the field. A new approach is taken to theory development based on applying recent studies by several authors in the areas of qualitative analysis and typologies. As illustrated throughout, many of the existing limited-scope theories in public administration may be extended and generalized for use in today¿s environment by the studies explored in this volume. More applications of the strategies in this book may be found in the free Snapshot "Designing Public Programs That Work" at https://www.routledge.com/posts/10703.
Learning in Public Policy Por
This book explains the causal pathways, the mechanisms and the politics that define the quantity and quality of policy learning. A rich collection of case studies structured around a strong conceptual architecture, the volume comprises fresh, original, empirical evidence for a large number of countries, sectors and multi-level governance settings including the European Commission, the European Union, and individual countries across Europe, Australia, Canada and Brazil. The theoretically diverse chapters address both the presence of learning and its pathologies, deploying state-of-the-art methods, including process tracing, diffusion models, and fuzzy-set techniques.
Management in Public Administration Por
In this book Markus Bodemann bridges the differences between public and private sector in aspects of management, especially risk management. A survey to draw a line between both sectors describes the current status of applied management tools and their effects. To cope with future developments, or at least to be prepared, risk management could be one tool. By using the yearly status reports the author works out the bandwidth of the impact of desired and undesired developments in public sector and the causation for more risk awareness for sustainable development in local public administration. ​
Managing Complexity in the Public Services Por
The application of complexity theory to management and the social sciences has been a key development in theory and practice over the last decade. This approach questions the possibility of finding universal methods of practice, and proposes a pragmatic and humanistic management style that evolves out of a reflective method. The focus is on practitioners observing patterns of similarity and being adaptable in decision-making. Bringing complexity theory into management reveals the importance of organizational culture and effective communication because people, their values and their objectives are at the heart of this method. Information technology provides a framework for complex communication and knowledge use, but it cannot replace highly developed professional negotiations and cooperation. This book argues that the complexity of the public service world limits the usefulness of classical and rational scientific management approaches such as New Public Management. Excessive marketization threatens a collaborative approach and overly rigid approaches to performance management and strategic management can be dysfunctional. Managing Complexity in the Public Services 2nd Edition advances a method of management practice that copes with the stark realities of the complex and unpredictable public policy world. It develops pragmatic management practices from action research that will be valuable to both academics and practitioners. The result is a new value-based practice for the post-crisis public service world.
Performance Goals in Public Management and Policy Por
Chan Su Jung provides a thorough review of goal ambiguity in the public sector, exploring the general assertions, arguments and empirical evidence regarding performance goal ambiguity, particularly highlighting its causes, consequences, and mediation effects. The author proposes a new conceptual framework for successful analysis of goal ambiguity that can effectively relate to diverse organizational and program characteristics.Using U.S. federal programs, South Korean central government agencies, and English local authorities as examples, Jung empirically tests his framework to validate the new approach for goal ambiguity analysis. The author corroborates management capacity, third-party involvement, learning times, size, and work complexity as predictors of goal ambiguity and performance. In addition, Jung studies political insulation structures as moderators between management capacity and goal ambiguity, along with the negative effect of goal ambiguity on performance. Based on these empirical findings, the author provides clear and transferable principles to guide further theoretical and conceptual studies on the topic.An essential read for quantitative researchers and doctoral students of public management and policy, this book will guide future empirical studies on goal ambiguity and performance in the public sector.
Policy Capacity and Governance Por
This book provides unique insights into the role of policy capacity in policymaking and policy change, as it is being uncovered at the research frontier in contemporary policy studies. The book is structured into a series of sections on policy capacity in theory and practice, each focusing on a specific aspect of policy capacity and its influence on policy formulation, decision-making, implementation and evaluation. In addition to making a significant contribution to the body of literature on the theoretical approaches to researching the role of capacity in policymaking, it also provides practical examples of the application of these approaches through a variety of national and sectoral case studies. Including contributions from authors working in a wide variety of disciplines, the book demonstrates, across the various topics investigated, many commonalities and consistencies in relation to the study of policy capacity and policy-making. This work has interdisciplinary appeal and will engage scholars in fields ranging from geography to communications, health, social work and political science, amongst others with an interest in public policy.
Public Administration Por
Public Administration: Research Strategies, Concepts, and Methods explores how scholars of public administration and institutional politics can improve their analysis by focusing on the contextual particularities of their research problems and considering the use of multiple theories and methods. The book functions as an introduction to central themes of public administration and related traditions of research, but also proposes a new pluralist approach for studying public institutions.
Surveillance, Transparency, and Democracy Por
In this well-informed yet anxious age, public administrators have constructed vast cisterns that collect and interpret a meteoric shower of facts. In Surveillance, Transparency, and Democracy, Akhlaque Haque demonstrates that this pervasive use and increasing dependence on information technology (IT) enables sophisticated and well-intentioned public services that nevertheless risk deforming public policy decision-making. Haque sees the contradiction at the core of a public that seeks services that require a level of data collection that triggers fears of a tyrannical police state. Haque begins by explaining that information has become a vital resource, offering a theoretical framework for its analysis. He then shows that an organization's information-gathering skill is reflected in its IT sophistication, but warns that successful IT strategies can by stunted by symbolic but shallow gestures such as the appointment of a "Chief Information Officer." He further outlines how the dependence on IT can create a reflex for IT solutions that fail to reflect the values of the citizenry they're intended to serve. Haque posits that IT's potential as a tool for human development depends on how civil servants and citizens actively engage in identifying desired outcomes, map IT solutions to those outcomes, and routinize the applications of those solutions. This leads to his call for the development of entrepreneurs who generate innovative solutions to critical human needs and problems. In his powerful summary, Haque recaps possible answers to the question: "What is the best way a public institution can apply technology to improving the human condition?" Haque masterfully flexes between crisp logical arguments and a deep empathy for human values. He finds apt metaphors that bring multifaceted scenarios into clear focus for experts and laymen alike. Engrossing, challenging, and important, Surveillance, Transparency, and Democracy is essential reading for both policy makers as well as the great majority of readers and citizens engaged in contemporary arguments about the role of government, public health and security, individual privacy, data collection, and surveillance.
Game Theory and Public Policy Por
Building on the success of the first edition, Game Theory and Public Policy, Second Edition provides a critical, selective review of key concepts in game theory with a view to their applications in public policy. The author further suggests modifications for some of the models (chiefly in cooperative game theory) to improve their applicability to economics and public policy.Roger McCain makes use of the analytical tools of game theory for the pragmatic purpose of identifying problems and exploring potential solutions, providing a toolkit for the analysis of public policy allowing for a clearer understanding of the public policy enterprise itself. His critical review of major topics from both cooperative and non-cooperative game theory includes less-known ideas and constructive proposals for new approaches. This revised edition features a new second half that focuses on biform games, combining cooperative and non-cooperative decisions in a simple and natural way to provide a working model of externalities that can be applied to issues such as monopoly policy and labor market policies. Drawing on comparatively well understood models in cooperative game theory and the author's own research on mathematical models of biform games, this unique approach and treatment of game theory, updated and expanded to stay on the cutting edge, will be a useful resource for students and scholars of economics and public policy, as well as for policymakers themselves.
Handbook of Critical Policy Studies Por
Critical policy studies, as this volume illustrates, challenges conventional approaches to public policy inquiry with its focus on discursive politics, policy argumentation and deliberation, and interpretive modes of analysis. Assembling the voices of established and emerging scholars, the Handbook of Critical Policy Studies fills a major gap in the policy literature.Moving beyond the false neutrality of empiricism and positivism, this Handbook highlights the responsibility of inquirers to take account of social and political context - including present conditions, past trends and prevailing power relationships - to advance inquiry that relies not only on experts but also on citizens in a manner supporting and encouraging democracy. Not only does this call for a reconsideration of the interplay of qualitative and quantitative methods but also for robust attention to the role of values. Accessible to scholars, practitioners and students alike, the book offers a compilation of new critical work that both assesses past developments and appraises emerging issues.
Creative Government-Business Alliances Por
Problem Solving with the Private Sectorpresents advice and solutions for fruitful government-business alliances from the perspective of everyday public management. With a focus on job training, economic development, regulation, and finance and innovation, each chapter discusses a traditional tool of government presented in a practical and applied manner, as well as the implementation of the tool with clear examples. Content-rich case studies on a wide range of policy issues, including regulatory policy, natural resources, manufacturing, financial services, and health care highlight opportunities for government and business to collaborate to pursue the public good. This book offers current and future public managers possible solutions to complex problems for effective government-business alliances in a range of settings. It is essential reading for all those studying public management, public administration, and public policy.
The Third Sector Delivering Public Services Por
This important book is the first edited collection to provide an up to date and comprehensive overview of the third sector's role in public service delivery. Exploring areas such as social enterprise, capacity building, volunteering and social value, the authors provide a platform for academic and policy debates on the topic. Drawing on research carried out at the ESRC funded Third Sector Research Centre, the book charts the historical development of the state-third sector relationship, and reviews the major debates and controversies accompanying recent shifts in that relationship. It is a valuable resource for social science academics and postgraduate students as well as policymakers and practitioners in the public and third sectors in fields such as criminal justice, health, housing and social care.
Management Control in Public-Private Partnerships Por
Thomas S. Konrad analyzes the management control design and reveals critical success factors of strategically oriented public-private partnerships for development between international governmental actors and the private sector. He builds a sound basis for the identification of a research gap and the derivation of research questions. The results generate sufficient evidence to answer these questions and therefore to close the identified research gap. Finally, he excelled in the discussion of the results by making a contribution of theory and by providing substantive recommendations to practitioners equally well.
Partnership Governance in Public Management Por
The ability to create and sustain partnerships is a skill and a strategic capacity that utilizes the strengths and offsets the weaknesses of each actor. Partnerships between the public and private sectors allow each to enjoy the benefits of the other: the public sector benefits from increased entrepreneurship and the private sector utilizes public authority and processes to achieve economic and community revitalization. Partnership Governance in Public Management describes what partnership is in the public sector, as well as how it is managed, measured, and evaluated. Both a theoretical and practical text, this book is a what, why, and how examination of a key function of public management. Examining governing capacity, community building, downtown revitalization, and partnership governance through the lens of formalized public-private partnerships - specifically, how these partnerships are understood and sustained in our society - this book is essential reading for students and practitioners with an interest in partnership governance and public administration and management more broadly. Chapters explore partnering technologies as a way to bridge sectors, to produce results and a new sense of public purpose, and to form a stable foundation for governance to flourish.
Public Sector Entrepreneurship Por
Public sector entrepreneurship refers to innovative public policy initiatives that generate greater economic prosperity. These initiatives can transform a status quo economic environment into one that is more conducive to economic units engaging in creative and innovative activities in theface of uncertainty. Public Sector Entrepreneurship traces the historical development of the concepts of private and public sector entrepreneurship and their connection to the separate notions of risk and uncertainty. Based on a formal conceptualization of these notions, the book illustrates throughout public sectorentrepreneurship in practice using examples from U.S. technology and innovation policy. Technology policy-policy to enhance the application of new knowledge, learned through science, to some known problem - and innovation policy-policy to enhance the commercialization of a technology - are quintessential examples of the public sector recognizing and exploiting opportunities to bringabout change and efficiency. Using this concept of public sector entrepreneurship as the lens to view the Bayh-Dole Act of 1980, the Stevenson-Wydler Act of 1980, the RandE Tax Credit of 1981, Small Business Innovation Development Act of 1982, the National Cooperative Research Act of 1984, and theOmnibus Trade and Competitiveness Act of 1988 affords us the ability to find elements of commonality among these policies and to discuss their impact on the U.S. economy from the perspective of entrepreneurial action.
Anti-Corruption in History Por
Anticorruption in History is a timely and urgent book: corruption is widely seen today as a major problem we face as a global society, undermining trust in government and financial institutions, economic efficiency, the principle of equality before the law and human wellbeing in general. Corruption, in short, is a major hurdle on the "path to Denmark" a feted blueprint for stable and successful statebuilding. The resonance of this view explains why efforts to promote anticorruption policies have proliferated in recent years. But while the subject of corruption and anticorruption has captured the attention of politicians, scholars, NGOs and the global media, scant attention has been paid to the link between corruption and the change of anticorruption policies over time and place, with the attendant diversity in how to define, identify and address corruption. Economists, political scientists and policy-makers in particular have been generally content with tracing the differences between low-corruption and high-corruption countries in the present and enshrining them in all manner of rankings and indices. The long-term trends & social, political, economic, cultural; potentially undergirding the position of various countries plays a very small role. Such a historical approach could help explain major moments of change in the past as well as reasons for the success and failure of specific anticorruption policies and their relation to a country's image (of itself or as construed from outside) as being more or less corrupt. It is precisely this scholarly lacuna that the present volume intends to begin to fill. The book addresses a wide range of historical contexts: Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Eurasia, Italy, France, Great Britain and Portugal as well as studies on anticorruption in the Early Modern and Modern era in Romania, the Ottoman Empire, the Netherlands, Germany, Denmark, Sweden and the former German Democratic Republic.
Corruption Por
Corruption regularly makes front page headlines: public officials embezzling government monies, selling public offices, and trading bribes for favors to private companies generate public indignation and calls for reform. In Corruption: What Everyone Needs to KnowRG, renowned scholars Ray Fismanand Miriam A. Golden provide a deeper understanding of why corruption is so damaging politically, socially, and economically.Among the key questions examined are: is corruption the result of perverse economic incentives? Does it stem from differences in culture and tolerance for illicit acts of government officials? Why don't voters throw corrupt politicians out of office? Vivid examples from a wide range of countries andsituations shed light on the causes of corruption, and how it can be combated.
Corruption in Public Administration Por
Despite the growth in literature on political corruption, contributions from field research are still exiguous. This book provides a timely and much needed addition to current research, bridging the gap and providing an innovative approach to the study of corruption and integrity in public administration. The volume contributors provide insights from eight different countries, all drawing on extensive fieldwork data and following ethnographic methodologies. The topics discussed in this book include: the role of anti-corruption legislation; organizational change and integrity; party corruption; socio-cultural dimensions of corruption; gift-exchange; and clientelism. Analyzing these topics comparatively, the volume concludes that in countries where public perception of corruption is high, citizens are well aware of the generalized damage of these practices and the loss of trust they cause for public administrations. On the other hand, corruption in public administration takes place following patterns that mirror some of the fundamental social and cultural features that characterize interactions among citizens and institutions.Scholars and students from fields including public policy, public administration, sociology and anthropology will find this book to be of use to their research and studies. It will also be of interest to policy makers internationally and public sector practitioners.
Dirty Deals? Por
An encyclopedia unlike any other, this work focuses on lobbying, corruption, and political influence in America to inspire readers to think critically about the U.S. government and to appreciate the opportunities of citizenship. * Provides balanced and fair information about three of the murkiest but most powerful forces in American politics and government: lobbying, political influence, and corruption * Covers a wide range of pertinent events, people, organizations, institutions, jurisprudence, and laws from the Credit Mobilier affair in the 19th century to the conviction of Jack Abramoff in the 21st century * Includes suggested readings with each entry for further exploration of specific subject as well as a unique compendium of original data and documents such as laws, legislation, and agency regulations * Supplies references for further reading and features extensive cross-referencing that directs researchers to other authoritative sources
Fraud and Corruption in Public Services Por
Fraud, corruption and bribery in and around public services have become an increasing concern in recent years. The reported level of fraud and corruption affecting the public sector has remained unacceptably high despite numerous national and international initiatives intended to tackle these crimes and their consequences. Fraud and Corruption in Public Services is a definitive, practical guide to the diverse risks that arise in central and local government. There is guidance on civil and criminal law around fraud, bribery and corruption as well as the national and international governmental measures and initiatives for countering this form of criminality. Most importantly of all, the book offers advice, practical examples and strategies for preventing and combating fraud, bribery and corruption. The text is readable, well-informed and intensely practical; illustrated throughout with real-life examples from the author's 40 year career.
The Corruption Cure Por
Why leadership is key to ending political and corporate corruption globally Corruption corrodes all facets of the world's political and corporate life, yet until now there was no one book that explained how best to battle it. The Corruption Cure provides many of the required solutions and ranges widely across continents and diverse cultures--putting some thirty-five countries under an anticorruption microscope--to show exactly how to beat back the forces of sleaze and graft. Robert Rotberg defines corruption theoretically and practically in its many forms, describes the available legal remedies, and examines how we know and measure corruption's presence. He looks at successful and unsuccessful attempts to employ anticorruption investigative commissions to combat political theft and venal behavior. He explores how the globe's least corrupt nations reached that exceptional goal. Another chapter discusses the role of civil society in limiting corruption. Expressed political will through determined leadership is a key factor in winning all of these battles. Rotberg analyzes the best-performing noncorrupt states to show how consummate leadership made a telling difference. He demonstrates precisely how determined leaders changed their wildly corrupt countries into paragons of virtue, and how leadership is making a significant difference in stimulating political anticorruption movements in places like India, Croatia, Honduras, and Lebanon. Rotberg looks at corporate corruption and how it can be checked, and also offers an innovative fourteen-step plan for nations that are ready to end corruption. Curing rampant corruption globally requires strengthened political leadership and the willingness to remake national political cultures. Tougher laws and better prosecutions are not enough. This book enables us to rethink the problem completely--and solve it once and for all.
Soft Corruption Por
New Jersey has long been a breeding ground for political corruption, and most of it is perfectly legal. Public officials accept favors from lobbyists, give paid positions to relatives, and rig the electoral process to favor their cronies in a system where campaign money is used to buy government results. Such unethical behavior is known as "soft corruption," and former New Jersey legislator William E. Schluter has been fighting it for the past fifty years. In this searing personal narrative, the former state senator recounts his fight to expose and reform these acts of government misconduct. Not afraid to cite specific cases of soft corruption in New Jersey politics, he paints a vivid portrait of public servants who care more about political power and personal gain than the public good. By recounting events that he witnessed firsthand in the Garden State, he provides dramatic illustrations of ills that afflict American politics nationwide. As he identifies five main forms of soft corruption, Schluter diagnoses the state government's ethical malaise, and offers concrete policy suggestions for how it might be cured. Not simply a dive through the muck of New Jersey politics, Soft Corruption is an important first step to reforming our nation's political system, a book that will inspire readers to demand that our elected officials can and must do better. Visit: www.softcorruption.com (http://www.softcorruption.com)
Influence of Public Policy on Small Social Enterprises Por 
Training at Work Por
Training in the workplace can be costly and time-consuming. Consequently it is often neglected. However, it plays an essential part in a company's success, increasing the level of performance, aiding strategic decision-making and maximizing quality and efficiency. Using detailed surveys and encompassing the literature in human resource management, this book, first published in 1992, shows why training is so valuable a tool. The author¿s critical analysis covers the effects of demographic change and the growing number of women in the workforce as well as issues which reflect the changing patterns of work, such as technology, workplace flexibility, and employee relations. He deals with the increasing stress laid on managerial performance, emphasizing the need for more management training, as well as assessing the role of state-run schemes and the effect of government policies. He concludes with ways to develop successful training patterns and to launch a "skills revolution". This book should be of interest to postgraduates, academics and researchers in the fields of human resource management, industrial relations and organizational behaviour.
Sex Scandals, Gender, and Power in Contemporary American Politics Por 
The Impact of Gender Quotas Por
The introduction of electoral gender quotas in diverse contexts around the globe has attracted a great deal of scholarly and political interest. To date, research on these measures has focused primarily on quota design, adoption, and effects on the numbers of women elected. While this remains a crucial focus, quotas are not simply about changing the proportion of women in political office. Both supporters and opponents of quotas suggest, albeit from different perspectives, that positive action for women as candidates will influence the kinds of women elected, the policy-making process as it concerns women's issues, the way citizens view women in public life, and the relationship between female voters and the political process. Seeking to initiate a "second generation" of research on quotas, this volume is an effort to inspire a new literature focused on theorizing and studying the broader impact of quotas on politics and society. The book is structured in relation to three facets of political representation: the attributes of officeholders (descriptive representation); the promotion of group interests during the legislative process (substantive representation); and the broader cultural meanings and social consequences of political incorporation (symbolic representation). Within each section, the chapters include case studies from four regions of the world: Western Europe, Latin America, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Asia and the Middle East. This approach recognizes that quotas are a global phenomenon and that research on quotas and representation benefits from a comparative, cross-national approach.The Impact of Gender Quotas is a theory-building and comparative exercise in elaborating concepts commonly used to analyze the broad impacts of gender quotas. The book begins with the argument that the means by which women enter politics may influence how, why and to what extent their presence affects political representation. Following a preface by Drude Dahlerup, one of the pioneers of gender quota research, the editors introduce the book with a conceptual framework for analyzing the impact of quotas, based upon descriptive, substantive and symbolic dimensions of representation. The book is subsequently organized into three sections, each devoted to analyzing one of the dimensions of representation, and each of these sections contains a chapter case study from one of four regions of the world (Western Europe, Latin America, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Asia). Each of the chapters follows a basic format instituted by the editors, with the goal of facilitating cross-case comparisons and broad theory-building. The editors conclude the book by summarizing the main themes and implications for future research on gender quotas.
Sexual Misconduct in the Education and Human Services Sector Por
Creating a safe and trusting environment is a pivotal concern within any professional setting. By increasing awareness and providing accurate information, misbehavior problems can more easily be prevented. Sexual Misconduct in the Education and Human Services Sector is a pivotal reference source for the latest scholarly research on effective guidelines and frameworks for ensuring appropriate professional conduct, and presents innovative methods for the proper training of employees. Focusing on imperative concepts and applicable real-world examples, this book is ideally designed for managers, researchers, and professionals interested in the prevention of inappropriate behavior in the workplace.
Women in Presidential Cabinets Por
Though parity is still rare, presidential cabinets contain more women than ever before. Who are these women and what types of political capital resources do they bring to the administration? Are they new types of political players or very much like the men who have traditionally run thegovernment? And once they gain office, are they treated equally in the cabinet? Do they have the capacity to be as effective as their male counterparts? Drawing on data from five presidential democracies - Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, and the United States - Women in Presidential Cabinets examines the backgrounds, connections and credentials of all full-rank cabinet ministers in presidential administrations over the course of two decadesto determine if women and men bring similar numbers and diversity of political capital resources to the administration. Maria C. Escobar-Lemmon and Michelle M. Taylor-Robinson find that, with a few notable exceptions, presidents select men and women with similar work and education backgrounds,political experience, and linkages to related interest groups. There are, however, differences across types of posts and countries. They evaluate the treatment and effectiveness of similarly credentialed male and female ministers on four benchmarks. Specifically, they examine whether women withequal qualifications can really obtain all posts or whether glass ceilings persist in some areas. They then turn to the ability of women to hold onto a post, considering the nature and circumstances surrounding their departures from office and how long they remain in office. In doing so, theyuncover evidence that female ministers in Latin America stand on an unequal playing field when it comes to the ability to enact policy through legislation. Ultimately, Escobar-Lemmon and Taylor-Robinson show conclusively that while women lack numerical equality, they are no longer tokens, insteadappearing positioned to exercise power at the highest levels within the executive branch.
Diffusion of Gender Quotas in Latin America and Beyond Por
This book studies the adoption and diffusion of gender quotas in Latin America and beyond. Gender quotas are institutional mechanisms intended to increase the proportion of women rapidly and effectively in key decision-making political posts. Since the 1980s, gender quotas have been implemented in various governmental bodies and, more commonly, in legislatures. Starting in Northern Europe, these policies have expanded to other European countries and later to thirteen Latin American countries. Yet, whereas gender quotas in most European countries - with the exception of Belgium and France - have been adopted voluntarily by some political parties, in Latin America national legislation mandates all parties to include in their lists a quota for women candidates to legislatures. Although recent scholarship on gender quotas has been devoted to the adoption of gender quotas in a variety of countries, little has been done on Central and South America, despite the fact that the legislative #65533;quota wave#65533; originated there. Diffusion of Gender Quotas in Latin America and Beyond remedies that situation and provides a rich comparative analysis of this policy proliferation in Latin America as well as outside this region by also examining the adoption of legislative quotas in Armenia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Serbia.
Ethics Management for Public and Nonprofit Managers Por
This practical book is dedicated to building ethical organizations. It has been written for college students preparing for careers in public service as well as for elected and appointed officials, administrators, and career public servants in the United States and elsewhere. Concise and comprehensive, Ethics Management for Public and Nonprofit Managerstakes a managerial ethics approach to building and leading ethical public organizations. It includes: a discussion of the U.S. constitutional and administrative environment in which officials carry out their duties; descriptions and assessments of the tools available to elected and appointed officials who are committed to building ethical organizations; an overview of legislative and administrative measures taken by Congress, presidents, the judiciary, and the fifty states to foster ethical governance; unique coverage of ethics management around the world, with a focus on the US, Europe, and Asia; and hands-on skill-building exercises with active learning opportunities that conclude each chapter. This third edition includes a new chapter on 'achieving ethical competence,' exploring a wide range of ethical issues that confront public and nonprofit managers in their efforts to lead and build organizations of integrity. Examples and cases from both the public and the nonprofit sectors are incorporated throughout the third edition so that the book acts as a kind of 'field guide' for ethical behavior, with descriptions and assessments of the tools available to elected and appointed officials at every level. Accompanying the third edition text is a series of exercises that build ethical competence skills, asking the reader to judge the ethical competence of key actors in cases drawn from recent headlines.
Ethics Management in the Public Services Por
Ethics Management in the Public Service offers a new perspective for ethics management in the Public Administration. The traditional approaches, relying on codified rules, regulations, and guidelines, have not yielded the results expected of them and have not managed to serve as an effective tool in the hands of public administrators struggling with ethical and moral questions. Unlike Code-based training strategies, focusing on the written word and its application in real-life situations, the authors introduce a sensory-based strategy to sharpen public administrators¿ senses. This type of training would first aim to help the public administrators become conscious of the use of their senses in a routine manner, not necessarily limited to ethical issues. Once an individual becomes more conscious of his or her acts and thinking process, they can better understand their motives, and again attempt to modify their conduct if and when necessary. This book holds that sensory-based metaphors are an important device in applying the hermeneutic approach to ethics management in the public service, as they can enhance new understandings about the extent to which particular ethical principles might be disabling. Using metaphors as a management tool of public service ethics helps to communicate public values and ethical guidelines to public administrators.
The Public Administration Profession Por
While many introductory public administration textbooks contain a dedicated chapter on ethics, The Public Administration Profession is the first to utilize ethics as a lens for understanding the discipline. Analyses of the ASPA Code of Ethics are deftly woven into each chapter alongside complete coverage of the institutions, processes, concepts, persons, history, and typologies a student needs to gain a thorough grasp of public service as a field of study and practice. Features include: A significant focus on "public interests," nonprofit management, hybrid-private organizations, contracting out and collaborations, and public service at state and local levels. A careful examination of the role that religion may play in public servants' decision making, as well as the unignorable and growing role that faith-based organizations play in public administration and nonprofit management at large. End-of-chapter ethics case studies, key concepts and persons, and dedicated "local community action steps" in each chapter. Appendices dedicated to future public administration and nonprofit career management, writing successful papers throughout a student's career, and professional codes of ethics. A comprehensive suite of online supplements, including: lecture slides; quizzes and sample examinations for undergraduate and graduate courses containing multiple choice, true-false, identifications, and essay questions; chapter outlines with suggestions for classroom discussion; and suggestions for use of appendices, e.g., how to successfully write a short term paper, a brief policy memo, resume, or a book review. Providing students with a comprehensive introduction to the subject while offering instructors an elegant new way to bring ethics prominently into the curriculum, The Public Administration Profession is an ideal introductory text for public administration and public affairs courses at the undergraduate or graduate level.
Managing Performance in the Public Sector Por
Topical and taking a bold stance in the contentious debate surrounding performance in the public sector, thisnbsp;new editionnbsp;shows readers how performance thinking has a substantial impact on the management of public organizations. Thoroughly revised and updated, this highly successful text, written by an experienced academic and practitioner is packed full with a wealth of new features. These include: more examples and cases, from a variety of different sectors, including, hospitals, courts, school and universities a whole new chapter on the dynamics of performance management; answering the questions - how do PM systems evolve? Which effects will dominate in the long run? many extra recommendations for making PM attractive for managers. An informed and up-to-date analysis of this subject, this is an essential text for all those studying, both at undergraduate and postgraduate level, performance management in the public sector.
A Cognitive Approach to Performance Appraisal Por
The benefits of performance appraisal in the business world have caused an upsurge of books and programs for use in management, but few of the methods described bother to verify that the underlying psychology on which they are based holds true. Angelo DeNisi has spent 10 years conducting research into cognitive processes, particularly those of the rater, in performance appraisal. A Cognitive Appraisalis a careful and thorough investigation of appraisal decisions. Based on experiments conducted with over 300 participants, Angelo DeNisi presents results from both the laboratory and real life settings into this vital area. The evidence described will be invaluable to all those involved in assessing the validity of particular performance 'packages' for use by themselves or their clients and to other researchers in appraisal techniques. It is also an excellent guide for all psychologists who wish to verify their results in the field as it contains the story of a long term research program encompassing the move from lab to field, successfully.
The Public Wealth of Cities : How to Unlock Hidden Assets to Boost Growth and Prosperity Por 
Gestión, política y comunicación: buenas prácticas en la implementación de proyectos municipales Por 
Biopolitical Governance Por
For years critical theorists and Foucauldian biopolitics have argue against the Aristotelian idea that life and politics inhabit two separate domains. On the contrary, in the context of receding social security systems and increasing economic inequality, within contemporary liberal democracies, life is necessarily political. This collection brings together contributions from both established scholars and researchers working at the forefront of biopolitical theory, gendered and sexualised governance and the politics of race and migration, to better understand the central lines along which the body of the governed is produced, controlled or excluded.
Borderline Citizens Por
Borderline Citizens explores the intersection of U.S. colonial power and Puerto Rican migration. Robert C. McGreevey examines a series of confrontations in the early decades of the twentieth century between colonial migrants seeking work and citizenship in the metropole and various groups--employers, colonial officials, court officers, and labor leaders--policing the borders of the U.S. economy and polity. Borderline Citizens deftly shows the dynamic and contested meaning of American citizenship. At a time when colonial officials sought to limit citizenship through the definition of Puerto Rico as a U.S. territory, Puerto Ricans tested the boundaries of colonial law when they migrated to California, Arizona, New York, and other states on the mainland. The conflicts and legal challenges created when Puerto Ricans migrated to the U.S. mainland thus serve, McGreevey argues, as essential, if overlooked, evidence crucial to understanding U.S. empire and citizenship. McGreevey demonstrates the value of an imperial approach to the history of migration. Drawing attention to the legal claims migrants made on the mainland, he highlights the agency of Puerto Rican migrants and the efficacy of their efforts to find an economic, political, and legal home in the United States. At the same time, Borderline Citizens demonstrates how colonial institutions shaped migration streams through a series of changing colonial legal categories that tracked alongside corporate and government demands for labor mobility. McGreevey describes a history shaped as much by the force of U.S. power overseas as by the claims of colonial migrants within the United States.
Enhancing Firm Sustainability Through Governance Por
Enhancing Firm Sustainability Through Governance presents a fresh perspective on corporate governance and how the relationship between governance mechanisms, processes and variables should be understood through a new unifying theory: the relational corporate governance approach. Francesco de Zwart examines significant areas of governance study and practice to illustrate how the most established governance mechanisms, processes and variables affect each other and the governance and management structures within a company. The relational corporate governance approach acts as a tool for analysing the governance health of individual companies and suggests the actions required to remedy sub-optimal governance and management arrangements. A wide selection of articles, empirical studies and literature have been translated into an original and understandable theory which complements and enhances the explanatory power of existing law and economics models of the firm.This interdisciplinary book will interest scholars and researchers in the fields of corporate law, economics, accounting, management and, more specifically, governance and regulation. Policymakers and practitioners involved in corporate governance will benefit from the discerning insight into managerial design and adoption, decision-making, monitoring and reporting structures and other processes within the corporation.
Gobierno Electrónico en América Latina Por
"Este libro presenta los resultados de investigación del proyecto denominado "Evaluación del impacto de las Tecnologías de la Información y las Comunicaciones en las estructuras organizacionales - Caso Gobierno Electrónico en América Latina", el cual fue financiado por Colciencias en el 2011 a través del Programa Nacional de Jóvenes Investigadores e Innovadores. El objetivo de esta investigación fue desarrollar un marco teórico sobre el nacimiento, el despliegue, la evaluación, y el futuro del Gobierno Electrónico -GE- en América Latina.En la primera sección, se especifica la delimitación del problema, los objetivos y las preguntas desde las cuales se focaliza esta investigación. Luego se aborda el marco conceptual necesario para contextualizar a los lectores sobre las dinámicas correspondientes a las Tecnologías de la Información y las Comunicaciones -TIC-, su impacto en la sociedad y su papel dentro del sector público. Posteriormente se analizan dos informes relacionados con la evaluación de las estrategias de GE implementadas internacionalmente: el de la Universidad de Brown y el de la Organización de las Naciones Unidas -ONU-. Luego se identifican cuáles fueron los inicios del GE en América Latina con relación a cumbres, acuerdos, compromisos y agendas internacionales. Después se realiza una introducción a la iniciativa Municipios Eficientes y Transparentes -MuNet- de la Organización de los Estados Americanos -OEA-."
The Value of Government Data Por
The term "government data" includes diverse categories of government information products, such as information published by government agencies for statistical purposes; information in government administrative records on individuals and businesses; and physical measurements about natural phenomena recorded by government agencies. This book discusses the value of government data and provides a U.S. open data action plan as well as the open data policy.
Digitalization and Public Sector Transformations Por
This book provides a study of governmental digitalization, an increasingly important area of policymaking within advanced capitalist states. It dives into a case study of digitalization efforts in Denmark, fusing a national policy study with local institutional analysis. Denmark is often framed as an international forerunner in terms of digitalizing its public sector and thus provides a particularly instructive setting for understanding this new political instrument. Advancing a cultural political economic approach, Schou and Hjelholt argue that digitalization is far from a quick technological fix. Instead, this area must be located against wider transformations within the political economy of capitalist states. Doing so, the book excavates the political roots of digitalization and reveals its institutional consequences. It shows how new relations are being formed between the state and its citizens. Digitalization and Public Sector Transformations pushes for a renewed approach to governmental digitalization and will be of interest to scholars working in the intersections of critical political economy, state theory and policy studies.
Security Frameworks in Contemporary Electronic Government Por
Global change and advancing technology have transformed the government sector with the use of information and communication technology to improve service delivery. The use of such technologies in electronic and mobile government services raises issues relating to security, privacy, and data protection. Security Frameworks in Contemporary Electronic Government is a pivotal reference source that provides vital research on the application of special security requirements in electronic government transactions. While highlighting topics such as digital environments, public service delivery, and cybercrime, this publication explores the difficulties and challenges faced in implementing e-government technologies, as well as the different aspects of security in e-government. This book is ideally designed for policymakers, software developers, IT specialists, government officials, academicians, researchers, and students seeking current research on secure environments in electronic and mobile government.
Public Administration and Policy in the Caribbean Por
The Caribbean is at a crucial phase in its development. Global and local pressures have seen the region losing its competitiveness, while it remains at risk of losing out on development gains made in the last few decades. These pressures are demanding improvements in the way government operates, particularly in its policy-making and administrative capacity. This book offers the single most comprehensive reference on public administration in the Caribbean to date, providing information on legacies, tools, and strategies that are beneficial to understanding and improving public policy. Public Administration and Policy in the Caribbeanpresents contributed chapters from a host of well-placed practitioners and academics across the region and its diaspora. The collection maps the history and development of Caribbean public policy and management, discussing some of the most relevant contemporary themes and practices in a region that has received insufficient attention in research. It also considers a number of critical policy issues, some old, some new, and others yet emerging that are of significant import for successful governance and development across the region. The book covers the lesser-known experiences of the Dutch, French, and English Caribbean, as well as Cuba and Haiti, showing the rich legacies, themes, and contemporary issues affecting the region. It begins with a history of Caribbean public administration practices and institutions from the colonial period to the present. It then offers an exposition and critical analysis of some of the current debates and issues in public administration, delving into the internal workings of the state. The book concludes with a discussion of some of the ongoing and new public policy issues and concerns in the region. Public Administration and Policy in the Caribbeanmakes a solid contribution to understanding the variety of experiences, legacies, and contemporary issues in public policy and administration in small and developing states. Practitioners, researchers, consultants, and instructors should find this an invaluable resource.
Training Fundamentals Por
Training Fundamentals is a no-nonsense, practical overview oftraining, filled with useful information, best practices, andproven strategies to help both new and experienced trainers developtheir skills and design and deliver training that achieves resultsin today's rapidly changing learning environment. Designed to beeasy-to-use, Training Fundamentals covers a range of topics,including: How training helps organizations achieve their goals What characteristics and skills a trainer needs to besuccessful The adult learning principles that guide all successful trainingprograms The basics of designing, developing, delivering, and evaluatingtraining programs Guidelines for becoming a professional trainer The Pfeiffer Essential Guides to Training Basics is athree-volume series--Training Fundamentals, Designing andDeveloping Training Programs, and Delivering TrainingWorkshops--that offers new and experienced trainers a wealth ofideas, information, tips, tools, and techniques. Praise for Training Fundamentals "Training--it sounds so simple, but it's not. This bookprovides an essential--and practical--foundation fordesigning and delivering a successful workshop. It's easy to use,practical, and chock full of insights only a successful trainerknows." --Barbara Nelson, principal of Nelson Communications "With crisp, fresh, and easy to understand language, Chan cutsthrough all the jargon and provides easy to follow guidelines forbecoming a pro." --Terrence L. Gargiulo, president, MAKINGSTORIES.net, andauthor, Building Business Acumen for Trainers and Trainer'sPortable Mentor
Social Recruitment in HRM Por
This book was born from the desire to analyze the role of social recruitment in human resources management. The first chapter analyzes theoretical background of social media communication and focuses on the trend to make use of these instruments in SMEs and public and non-profit sectors. The second chapter explores an analysis of social sphere through three perspectives: a) how it has changed the identity of individuals; b) the relationship between social media and aspects of personality; c) the correlation between social media and cultural dimensions. The third chapter, focuses on the advantages and limitations of social recruitment and examines how employer branding can used strategically in order to attract potential candidates. The relationship between social network and recruitment has been analyzed through empirical research on public and non-profit sector and SMEs (using Cranet data) in the fourth chapter. The last chapter analyzes the competitive advantage which social recruitment can generate.
ASTD Competency Study Por
Revised from its 2004 edition, the new ASTD Competency Study is your essential guide for understanding and using the ASTD Competency Model. The ASTD Competency Model answers the question, what do training and development practitioners need to know and do to be successful, now and in the future? And, how do they prepare for that future faster than ever before? The ASTD Competency Model is the definitive framework for the training and development profession; understanding and applying the model is essential for staying current and relevant in the field. This book presents the academic research behind the model in a practical, actionable way. Ultimately, it helps training and development practitioners add power to their development plans by honing in on the key competencies and trends that really matter.
Public Service Management and Employment Relations in Europe; Por
Has there been a transformation of public service employment relations in Europe since the crisis? Public Service Management and Employment Relations in Europe examines public service employment relations after the economic crisis, including analysis of more than thirty years of public service and workforce reform, and addresses the interplay between an emerging post-crisis public service sector and the consequences for the state, employers and trade unions in core public services. Written by leading national experts, this book places the economic crisis in a longer timeframe and examines how far trends in public sector employment relations were reinforced or reversed by the crisis. It provides an up-to-date analysis of the restructuring of public service employment relations in 12 major European countries, including analysis of little studied central and Eastern European countries. This book will be vital reading for researchers, academics and PhD Students in the fields of Public Management, Public Administration, Employment Relations, and Human Resource Management.
Impact of Diversity on Organization and Career Development Por
Today's workforce represents individuals of various backgrounds and experiences. The influence of such individuals is becoming an important component in the workplace and researchers continue to explore the challenges of understanding the connection between employee profiles and the overall success of a company. Impact of Diversity on Organization and Career Development brings together a reflective discussion on the previous approaches and strategies of companies in relation to the paradigm shift in workplace equity of today's workforce. By examining both old and new strategies, the research included in this publication will present a unique approach for future company enhancement and employee success. This publication is an essential reference source for researchers, practitioners, managers, and students interested in the effects of multicultural representation on both a company and its employees through professional growth and advancement.
Valuing People to Create Value Por
Motivation, that is positively weaved into the organizational culture, plays an instrumental role in the success of a company as well as in talent retention. This book aims to provide readers with a comprehensive and practical understanding of motivation by exploring the theories of motivation. It also focuses on innovative practices of leading organizations that are known for positive management relations with their employees. It also presents Motivation Spectrum -- a dynamic tool, designed by the authors, that can be leveraged by organizations and managers to motivate people positively and to foster a relationship of value among employees and employers.
Impact of Diversity on Organization and Career Development Por
Today's workforce represents individuals of various backgrounds and experiences. The influence of such individuals is becoming an important component in the workplace and researchers continue to explore the challenges of understanding the connection between employee profiles and the overall success of a company. Impact of Diversity on Organization and Career Development brings together a reflective discussion on the previous approaches and strategies of companies in relation to the paradigm shift in workplace equity of today's workforce. By examining both old and new strategies, the research included in this publication will present a unique approach for future company enhancement and employee success. This publication is an essential reference source for researchers, practitioners, managers, and students interested in the effects of multicultural representation on both a company and its employees through professional growth and advancement.
Leadership and Change in Public Sector Organizations Por
Successful change in the public sector can be supported or hindered by political and administrative leadership, individual and group motivation, and the public's perception of the effectiveness of public officials and government structures. But do the very characteristics of public sector organizations present obstacles to successful transformative change? This book assesses the current state of the literature on leadership and change in government and public policy, and introduces the reader to innovative new ways to demonstrate leadership in times of change. Contributions from accomplished scholars in the field cover the traditional public administration areas of performance and management, as well as the diversity of issues that surround public leadership and change, both domestic and global. Chapters on public sector innovation, performance leadership, governance networks, complexity in disaster management, change initiatives in educational systems and local government, citizen advisory bodies, and gender and race equality, to name but a few, provide important case studies throughout the volume. Leadership and Change in Public Sector Organizations will be required reading for upper level undergraduate and graduate courses in public administration/management, leadership, and public policy analysis.
Creating Effective Rules in Public Sector Organizations Por 
Neoliberal Power Public Management Reforms Por
This book examines the links between major contemporary public sector reforms and neoliberal thinking. The key contribution of the book is to enhance our understanding of contemporary neoliberalism as it plays out in the public administration and to provide a critical analysis of generallyoverlooked aspects of administrative power. The book examines the quest for accountability, credibility and evidence in the public sector. It asks whether this quest may be understood in terms of neoliberal thinking and, if so, how? The book makes the argument that while current administrativereforms are informed by several distinct political rationalities, they evolve above all around a particular form of neoliberalism: constructivist neoliberalism. The book analyses the dangers of the kinds of administrative power seeking to invoke the self-steering capacities of society andadministration itself.
Understanding Organizational Change Por
This exciting new text fills the gap in the management literature on organizational change. It presents a balanced view, which raises questions about the imperative of change, who's interests are being served, how change programmes impact on employees and why organizations continually engage in such programmes. It gives readers a comprehensive history of: change management literature types of change techniques over time (i.e. TQM, BPR, Balanced Scorecard, Six Sigma, etc.) the role of management gurus in the rise and fall of management fashions the impact of organizational change on organizational members. The authors provide case vignettes of companies from both sides of the Atlantic, which have undergone some of the better-known change techniques, and explore the reasons for their successes and failures. This is an innovative and important new text for students of organizational behaviour, organizational change, strategy and HRM. This is an innovative and important new text for students of organizational behaviour, organizational change, strategy and HRM.
Public Administration Research Methods Por
The best decisions made by public managers are based not on instinct, but on an informed understanding of what¿s happening on the ground. Policy may be directed by ideology, but it must also be founded on reality. The challenge of making the right decisions as a public manager is often, therefore, based on the need for rigorous, actionable research. Now in a thoughtfully revised second edition, this textbook shows students of Public Administration exactly how to use both qualitative and quantitative research techniques to give them the best chance to make the right decisions. Uniquely, Eller, Gerber, and Robinson present research methodologies through a series of real-life case studies, with each chapter exploring situations where a public manager can use research to answer specific questions, demonstrating how that research can inform future policy. Taking readers through the key concepts, from research design and sampling to interviews, survey data, and more statistical-based approaches, this new edition provides a complete guide to using research in the public and voluntary sectors. New to this edition: To better orient the student, the second edition is thematically arranged. Five sections, each with a short essay, provide not only previews of the content of each section, but more importantly guide the reader through how the concepts and techniques covered relate to real-world use and application. A new chapter on applied quantitative analyses has been added to offer coverage of several commonly-used and valuable analytic techniques for decision making for policy and management: benefit-cost analysis, risk assessment, and forecasting. The second edition is accompanied by online materials containing suggested course plans and sample syllabi, PowerPoint lecture slides, and student support materials to illustrate the application of key concepts and analytic techniques. Each chapter also includes discussion questions, class exercises, end of chapter review questions, and key vocabulary to provide students with a range of further tools to apply research principles to practical situations.
Doing Public Good? Por
This book examines the contributions of non-public organizations, such as foundations, philanthropies, charities, non-governmental organizations, private businesses, and entrepreneurs to public goods and services. Too often the impact of the contributions of such private actors are overlooked. However, they are playing an increasing role in meeting societal needs across the developing world. Doing Public Good? lays out key elements that need to be considered in evaluating the net results achieved by these private actors. It uses case studies and analysis to show how to answer such questions as: Is it working? How do they and the public know they are doing good? And how to improve? Such questions are particularly important since little is known about the net results of private avenues for delivering public value. The contributors conclude that "doing good" organizations need to be more transparent and accountable regarding their operations and achievements. The book suggests perspectives on how better monitoring and evaluation systems can improve their accountability.
Nonprofit Governance Por
The current fashion for rolling back the state has seen the nonprofit or third sector playing an increasing role in what were previously the heartlands of the public sphere. The growing significance of the sector and its increasing reliance on public funds mean it has also attracted increased scrutiny. From outside the sector concerns have been raised about the accountability and performance of nonprofit organizations. From within the sector there has been considerable debate about whether the increased reliance on government contracts is in danger of undermining the sector's independence. As a result the spotlight has fallen on governance arrangements and whether they are adequate to ensure that nonprofit organizations are effective and accountable for their actions, and able to retain their independence. This collection offers a comprehensive assessment of research on the governance of nonprofit organizations. Nonprofit governance research has been dominated by the study of boards of unitary organizations and has paid insufficient attention to the multi-level nature of governance, governance relationships and dynamics, and the contribution of actors other than board members, to governance processes. Drawing on the research of leading scholars in the US, UK, Canada and Australia, this book presents new perspectives on non-profit governance, which help to overcome these weaknesses. Written in an accessible manner the book will be of value to scholars, researchers, students, reflective practitioners and governance consultants and advisers.
Policy Paradigms in Theory and Practice Por
The contributors investigate policy paradigms and their ability to explain the policy process actors, ideas, discourses and strategies employed to provide readers with a better understanding of public policy and its dynamics.
Government Austerity and Socioeconomic Sustainability Por
This short book integrates the imperatives of public debt sustainability with those of socioeconomic sustainability in the context of budget austerity measures. It is argued that poverty, inequality and unemployment problems should be integral aspects of policy frameworks for austerity and fiscal stability. The economics of austerity in much of economic analysis remains narrowly focused and lopsided, since the implications on the role of human capital and loss of prosperity base are usually ignored. This book argues that various misapplications of policies of government austerity can be avoided if greater attention is accorded to the imperatives of maintaining the win-win approaches for socioeconomic resilience and sustainability in conjunction with debt sustainability and/or fiscal stability.
Fiscal Policy in Dynamic Economies Por
The role of fiscal policy in short-run macroeconomic stabilization is, by now, well known in the academic literature and in policy circles. However, this focus on the short-run, especially in a democracy, means that much less attention has been paid to the other consequences of the use of fiscal policy. By studying the intergenerational-welfare aspects of fiscal policy, this book deals with some fundamental issues of fiscal policy. Why does public debt tend to rise over time in democracies? Why is there a tendency for government spending on consumption and on social security to grow? Why do governments fail to invest in public capital adequately? Should a dollar transferred from the young be treated as a dollar transferred to the old? By studying the international aspects of fiscal policy, the book establishes international differences in fiscal policy as determinants of persistent trade imbalances and international indebtedness. It also considers some basic questions on international transfers and austerity in open economies. What criteria should be used to define a successful foreign-aid programme? Why is foreign aid likely to fail in a world of global wealth disparity? Can reliance be placed on the international coordination of austerity to improve welfare in the long run? Is austerity accompanied by international transfers superior to austerity unaccompanied by international transfers? This book based on the OLG model fills a gap on fiscal-policy issues in the recent spate of books on overlapping generations.
Macro-Fiscal Management in the Resource-Rich Countries Por
The extractive industries (EI) sector occupies an outsize space in the economies of many developing countries. Policy makers, economists, and public finance professionals working in such countries are frequently confronted with issues that require an in-depth understanding of the sector, its economics, governance, and policy challenges, as well as the implications of natural resource wealth for fiscal and public financial management. The objective of the two-volume Essentials for Economists, Public Finance Professionals, and Policy Makers, published in the World Bank Studies series, is to provide a concise overview of the EI-related topics these professionals are likely to encounter.This second volume, Fiscal Management in Resource-Rich Countries, addresses critical fiscal challenges typically associated with large revenue flows from the EI sector. The volume discusses fiscal policy across four related dimensions: short-run stabilization, the management of fiscal risks and vulnerabilities, the promotion of long-term sustainability, and the importance of good public financial management and public investment management systems. The volume subsequently examines several institutional mechanisms used to aid fiscal management, including medium-term expenditure frameworks, resource funds, fiscal rules, and fiscal councils. The volume also discusses the earmarking of revenue, resource revenue projections as applied to the government budget, and fiscal transparency, and outlines several fiscal indicators used to assess the fiscal stance of resource-rich countries.The authors hope that economists, public finance professionals, and policy makers working in resource-rich countries--including decision makers in ministries of finance, international organizations, and other relevant entities--will find the volume useful to their understanding and analysis of fiscal management in resource-rich countries.
Fiscal Politics Por
Two main themes of the book are that (1) politics can distort optimal fiscal policy through elections and through political fragmentation, and (2) rules and institutions can attenuate the negative effects of this dynamic. The book has three parts: part 1 outlines the problems; part 2 outlines how institutions and fiscal rules can offer solutions; and part 3 discusses how multilevel governance frameworks can help.
Reforming Public Enterprises Por
1.Public Enterprises: Achievements and Challenges Ahead 2.Public Sector Reforms in Global Perspectives: The Indian Case 3.Performance of Public Enterprises in the Era of Economic Liberalization 4.Restructuril g Public Enterprises in India 5.Scope and Modalities for Restructuring SLPEs in Sikkim 6.Privatisation Challenges for Good Governance: A Case of India 7. Regulation in India: Conformance and Performance 8. State Level Public Enterprises in Assam: Performance Problems and Prospects 9. Heteroscedatic Frontier Model and efficiency: A Financial Econometric Analysis of State Level Public Enterprises in India 10. Public Enterprise Management: Extending Theory to Practice 11. Performance of Public Enterprises in Jammu and Kashmir 12. Post Privatization Efficiency of Select Central Public Sector Enterprises in India 13. Sikkim Nationalized Transport: A Case Study Index
Public Sector Compensation in Times of Austerity Por 
Public Sector Entrepreneurship and the Integration of Innovative Business Models Por
While private, for-profit businesses have typically been the most experienced with entrepreneurship, the study of public sector business models is coming to the forefront of entrepreneurial discussions. This shift has allowed researchers and practitioners to expand on their knowledge of positive business choices and paved the way for more profitable business empires. Public Sector Entrepreneurship and the Integration of Innovative Business Models is a comprehensive source of academic research that discusses the latest entrepreneurial strategies, achievements, and challenges in public sector contexts. Highlighting relevant topics such as public management, crowdsourcing, municipal cooperation, and public sector marketing, this is an ideal resource for managers, practitioners, researchers, and professionals interested in learning more about public sector business ideals, and how these models are shaping positive entrepreneurial communities around the world.
Public Service Efficiency Por
The current economic and political climate places ever greater pressure on public organizations to deliver services in a cost-efficient way. Focused on the costs of service delivery, governments across the world have introduced a series of business like practices ¿ from performance management to public-private partnership ¿ in the belief that these will increase the efficiency of their public services. However, both the debate about public service efficiency and the policies and practices introduced to advance it, have developed without a coherent account of what efficiency means in this context and how it should be realized. The predominance of a rather narrow definition of the term ¿ very often focused on the ratio of inputs to outputs ¿ has tended to polarise opinion either for or against efficiency agenda. Yet public service efficiency, more broadly conceived, is an inescapable fact of the public manager¿s task environment; indeed in the past, the notion of efficiency was central to the emergence of the field of public administration. This book will recover public service efficiency from the relatively narrow terms of recent debates by examining theories and evidence relating to technical, allocative, distributive and dynamic efficiencies. In exploring the relationship between efficiency and democracy, this book will move current debates in public administration forward by reflecting on the trade-offs between the different dimensions of efficiency that public organizations confront.
Getting a Government Job Por
Getting a Government Job: The Civil Service Handbook offers everything you need for getting a job with the U.S. government. This book describes in detail the advantages and disadvantages of working for the government, salary, benefits, training, advancement, job qualifications, and opportunities for veterans and students. You will explore the five fields in the federal government that are projected to see the greatest job growth and learn about job announcements and possible testing requirements. Furthermore, you will receive in-depth guidance on how to conduct a successful job search and how to match your personal skills with job requirements. The book will teach you how to put together an outstanding application package and how to follow up with a successfull intervew. This reference includes a broad variety of sample forms, cover letters, and resumes, as well as an extensive list of Web sites that can aid you in finding the right government job for you.
Public Service Operations Management Por
How do policy makers and managers square the circle of increasing demand and expectations for the delivery and quality of services against a backdrop of reduced public funding from government and philanthropists? Leaders, executives and managers are increasingly focusing on service operations improvement. In terms of research, public services are immature within the discipline of operations management, and existing knowledge is limited to government departments and large bureaucratic institutions. Drawing on a range of theory and frameworks, this book develops the research agenda, and knowledge and understanding in public service operations management, addressing the most pressing dilemmas faced by leaders, executives and operations managers in the public services environment. It offers a new empirical analysis of the impact of contextual factors, including the migration of planning systems founded on MRP/ERP and the adoption of industrial based improvement practices such as TQM, lean thinking and Six Sigma. This will be of interest to researchers, educators and advanced students in public management, service operations management, health service management and public policy studies.
Transforming Public Services by Design Por
For policy makers and policy implementers, design challenges abound. Every design challenge presents an opportunity for change and transformation. To get from policy intent to policy outcome, however, is not a straightforward journey. It involves people and services as much as it involves policies and organizations. Of all organizations, perhaps government agencies are perceived to be the least likely to change. They are embedded in enormous bureaucratic structures that have grown over decades, if not centuries. In effect, many people have given up hope that such an institution can ever change its ways of doing business. And yet, from a human-centered design perspective, they present a fabulous challenge. Designed by people for people, they have a mandate to be citizen-centered, but they often fall short of this goal. If human-centered design can make a difference in this organizational context, it is likely to have an equal or greater impact on an organization that shows more flexibility; for example, one that is smaller in size and less entangled in legal or political frameworks. Transforming Public Services by Designoffers a human-centered design perspective on policies, organizations and services. Three design projects by large-scale government agencies illustrate the implications for organizations and the people involved in designing public services: the Tax Forms Simplification Project by the Internal Revenue Service (1978-1983), the Domestic Mail Manual Transformation Project by the United States Postal Service (2001-2005) and the Integrated Tax Design Project by the Australian Tax Office. These case studies offer a unique demonstration of the role of human-centered design in policy context. This book aims to support designers and managers of all backgrounds who want to know more about reorienting policies, organizations and services around people. le, one that is smaller in size and less entangled in legal or political frameworks. Transforming Public Services by Designoffers a human-centered design perspective on policies, organizations and services. Three design projects by large-scale government agencies illustrate the implications for organizations and the people involved in designing public services: the Tax Forms Simplification Project by the Internal Revenue Service (1978-1983), the Domestic Mail Manual Transformation Project by the United States Postal Service (2001-2005) and the Integrated Tax Design Project by the Australian Tax Office. These case studies offer a unique demonstration of the role of human-centered design in policy context. This book aims to support designers and managers of all backgrounds who want to know more about reorienting policies, organizations and services around people.
Public Policy in the Community Por
The idea of community involvement and empowerment has become central to politics in recent years. Governments, keen to reduce public spending and increase civic involvement, believe active communities are essential for tackling a range of social, economic and political challenges, such as crime, sustainable development and the provision of care. Public Policy in the Community examines the way that community and the ideas associated with it - civil society, social capital, mutuality, networks - have been understood and applied from the 1960s to the present day. Marilyn Taylor examines the issues involved in putting the community at the heart of policy making, and considers the political and social implications of such a practice. Drawing on a wide range of relevant examples from around the world, the book considers the success of existing approaches and the prospects for further developments. Thoroughly updated to reflect advances in research and practice, the new edition of this important text gives a state-of-the-art assessment of the place of community in public policy.
Social Media Recruitment Por
As the recruiting landscape changes, different methods are needed to attract talent, and social media is a key channel. However, many HR and recruiting professionals are not equipped with the knowledge and understanding to create a social media recruiting strategy. Social Media Recruitment combines practical guidance with case studies and insights from industry thought leaders to provide a full understanding of what social media means for HR and recruitment and how to successfully integrate and use it. In a series of easy-to-follow chapters and manageable steps, Social Media Recruitment covers the essentials from the beginning to the end of the process, including: how to implement a social media strategy; the crossover between HR, recruiting and marketing; measuring ROI; HR policies and procedures needed; big data and HR; using technology in recruiting, such as video interviewing; social media as an internal collaboration and communication tool across companies; how social media will impact recruiting and HR in the future. Ideal for all HR and recruitment professionals, and anyone responsible for talent strategy, Social Media Recruitment focuses on devising and implementing a social media recruitment strategy that works for your organization and is aligned with your recruitment objectives.
Appraisal Por
In this revised and updated text, Fletcher and Williams take an evidence-based approach to analysing the key elements of the appraisal process and its place in performance management. Drawing on the academic literature and examples of best-practice, the authors explain how performance appraisal can motivate and develop staff, foster commitment and positivity, and ultimately improve an organisation's performance. Key topics covered include: Designing an appraisal system Identifying and developing talent Multi-level and multi-source feedback Appraising professionals Cultural challenges Evaluating and maintaining appraisal systems Appraisal: Improving Performance and Developing the Individual, 5th Edition, is a standard in the field and essential reading for all students of HRM and occupational psychology, and for any HRM professional looking to develop more effective performance appraisal systems.
Handbook of Research on Modernization and Accountability in Public Sector Management Por
The effects of recent economic and financial crises have reached an international scale. A number of different nations have experienced the fallout of these events, calling into question issues of accountability and reform in public management. The Handbook of Research on Modernization and Accountability in Public Sector Management is an essential scholarly publication that focuses on responsibility within public sector institutions and the importance of these institutions being ethical, transparent, and rigorous. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics, such as corporate social responsibility, e-government, and financial accountability, this publication is geared toward regulatory authorities, researchers, managers, and professionals working in the public domain.
Opening government : transparency and engagement in the information age Por
Transparency and citizen engagement remain essential to good government and sound public policy. Indeed, they may well be the key to restoring trust in government itself, currently at an all-time low in Australia. It is ironic, then, that this has occurred at a time when the technological potential for information dissemination and interaction has never been greater.Opening Government: Transparency and Engagement in the Information Age explores new horizons and scenarios for better governance in the context of the new information age, focusing on the potentials and pitfalls for governments (and governance more broadly) operating in the new, information-rich environment. Its contributors, a range of international and Australian governance academics and practitioners, ask what are the challenges to our governing traditions and practices in the new information age, and where can better outcomes be expected using future technologies. They explore the fundamental ambiguities extant in opening up government, with governments intending to become far more transparent in providing information and in information sharing, but also more motivated to engage with other data sources, data systems and social technologies.
Proliferation of Open Government Initiatives and Systems Por
As is true in most aspects of daily life, the expansion of government in the modern era has included a move to a technologically-based system. A method of evaluation for such online governing systems is necessary for effective political management worldwide. Proliferation of Open Government Initiatives and Systems is an essential scholarly publication that analyzes open government data initiatives to evaluate the impact and value of such structures. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics including collaborative governance, civic responsibility, and public financial management, this publication is geared toward academicians and researchers seeking current, relevant research on the evaluation of open government data initiatives.
The Transparency Fix Por
Is the government too secret or not secret enough? Why is there simultaneously too much government secrecy and a seemingly endless procession of government leaks? The Transparency Fix asserts that we incorrectly assume that government information can be controlled. The same impulse that drives transparency movements also drives secrecy advocates. They all hold the mistaken belief that government information can either be released or kept secure on command. The Transparency Fix argues for a reformation in our assumptions about secrecy and transparency. The world did not end because Julian Assange, WikiLeaks, and Edward Snowden released classified information. But nor was there a significant political change. "Transparency" has become a buzzword, while secrecy is anathema. Using a variety of real-life examples to examine how government information actually flows, Mark Fenster describes how the legal regime's tenuous control over state information belies both the promise and peril of transparency. He challenges us to confront the implausibility of controlling government information and shows us how the contemporary obsession surrounding transparency and secrecy cannot radically change a state that is defined by so much more than information.
PO Box 23302, Ave. Ponce de León San Juan PR, 00931
Comisión Estatal de Elecciones CEE-SA-2020-3538
Aprobado por la Comisión Estatal de Elecciones y el número de radicación correspondiente
