"This unique guide offers you a thorough understanding of multilingual information access (MLIA) and services and related concepts, such as database design, information retrieval, machine translation, and natural language processing"

''Our ability to maintain and use digital objects is challenged by the wide range of formats, and their rapid rates of change. In the first part of this work, Oliver and Harvey provide a introduction to the main concepts of digital curation, and an overview of the field. The second part examines its purpose, establishes the need for planning, and the importance of both developing policy and documenting costs. The third part outlines the reasons for and activities associated with each of the Sequential and Occasional Actions involved in curation''

"This SPEC Kit explores how library roles are evolving as multimodal and collaborative scholarship become more visible in the research landscape and how the emergence of these newly identified roles influence the work of library staff. This study covers the types of support libraries offer researchers, how the individuals involved in digital scholarship activities are positioned within the library organization, their range of responsibilities, collaboration with partners inside and outside the library, how support for digital scholarship activities is funded, and how it is assessed, among other questions."

Digitizing your collection is not only a great way to increase access to your materials, it also engages patrons on a whole new level and helps communicate your library's value. But with staff time and resources already spread thin, it can be a challenge to plan and undertake a digitization initiative. The good news is that public libraries across the country have done just that. Here, the authors share lessons and tips for success, showing the way to getting your collection online. This book explains why public libraries should take digitization seriously, listing key points that can be used to get stakeholders on board; points out what you should consider before undertaking a digitization project; discusses copyright and other access-related issues; shows how public libraries are handling funding and finding collaborative partners; shares ways that libraries have used digitization projects for community outreach and to promote collections; and offers advice on marketing and media.

This edited collection brings together global experts on the impact of new technology on information services. Covering a range of key topics around discovery and preservation, this book explores the role of information professionals in a rapidly changing digital landscape that is challenging the very existence of the traditional library. Focusing on the issues surrounding the transition from an analogue to a digital environment, contributors examine whether analog practices and procedures are still valid and if they shape or distort those in the digital realm. The digital environment has the potential to transform scholarship and break down barriers between academia and the wider community through social networks and crowd sourcing, and this thought-provoking collection draws out both the inherent challenges and the opportunities.

"Libraries, Human Rights, and Social Justice: Enabling Access and Promoting Inclusion examines the interrelationships among digital literacy, digital inclusion, and public policy, emphasizing the impacts of policy decisions on participants in information society. This book will help librarians better understand and articulate their roles in promoting human rights and social justice, as well as educate policymakers, government officials, and professional in other fields. It explores the intersections of information, human rights, and social justice and addresses the differing roles of library institutions (public, school, academic, and special libraries), library professionals, professional organizations, governments, and library patrons. These topics are discussed through legal, political, social, cultural, and economic lenses. Issues are examined in terms of efforts both to support equity in communities as a whole and to promote fairness in specific disadvantaged or marginalized populations, such as the homeless, immigrants, people with disabilities, and the socioeconomically disadvantaged. The ideas and suggestions should help members of the library community understand their roles related to human rights and social justice, how they fit within the broader policy context, how to improve their related services and practices, and how to advocate for better support of these roles." --Back cover.

The research landscape is changing, with key global research funders now requiring institutions to demonstrate how they will preserve and share research data. However, the practice of structured research data management is very new, and the construction of services remains experimental and in need of models and standards of approach. This groundbreaking guide will lead researchers, institutions and policy makers through the processes needed to set up and run effective institutional research data management services. This 'how to' guide provides a step-by-step explanation of the components for an institutional service. Case studies from the newly emerging service infrastructures in the UK, USA and Australia draw out the lessons learnt. Different approaches are highlighted and compared; for example, a researcher-focused strategy from Australia is contrasted with a national, top-down approach, and a national research data management service is discussed as an alternative to institutional services. The key topics covered are: research data provision; options and approaches to research data management (RDM) service provision; a spectrum of roles, responsibilities and competences; a pathway to sustainable research data services; the range and components of RDM infrastructure and services; case studies of Johns Hopkins University, University of Southampton, Monash University, the UK Data Service and Jisc Managing Research Data programmes. This book will be an invaluable guide to those entering a new and untried enterprise. It will be particularly relevant to heads of libraries, information technology managers, research support office staff and research directors planning for these types of services. It will also be of interest to researchers, funders and policy makers as a reference tool for understanding how shifts in policy will have a range of ramifications within institutions. Library and information science students will find it an informative window on an emerging area of practice.

" ... Offers an explanation of the various types of 3-D printers, how they work, and the materials used ... [; and] describes a range of specific 3-D printing products appropriate for library use"--Abstract.

This book examines the changing roles of the librarian and how working within a rich digital environment has impacted on the ability of professionals to develop the appropriate 'know how', skills, knowledge and behaviours required in order to operate effectively. Expert specialists and opinion-makers from around the world discuss the challenges and successes of adapting existing practices, introducing new services and working with new partners in an environment that no longer recognizes traditional boundaries and demarcation of roles. The book is structured thematically, with a focus on three key strands where the impact of digital technologies is significant. The first strand, Rethinking Marketing and Communication, looks at strategic approaches and practices which harness social media and illustrate the importance of communication and marketing activities in these new online spaces. The second strand, Rethinking Support for Academic Practice, examines the professional expertise required of librarians who engage with and support new academic and learner practices in digitally rich teaching, learning and research environments. The third strand, Rethinking Resource Delivery, investigates the use of strategies to maximize access to online resources and services: harnessing system data to enhance collection management and user choice, designing and managing mobile 'friendly' learning spaces and providing virtual resources and services to an overseas campus. This timely and inspiring edited collection should make vital reading for librarians, library schools, departments of information science and other professional groups such as education developers, learning technologists and IT specialists.

Each section consists of documents from 3-5 libraries.

"The creation of massive digital libraries is your existential crisis. After all, some say they may lead to the demise of traditional libraries. Recognizing libraries as a "big idea" that has been implemented in many ways over thousands of years, author Andrew Weiss is not so gloomy. He explores the question of how libraries will adapt, applying and using massive digital libraries. Using the authors criteria for a massive digital libraries, you'll have a firm understanding of their characteristics. You'll track the path of Google Books and the early proponents of the Very Large Digital Library as it met the protests of the scholarly communication community. You'll learn about library practices of the massive digital libraries and how traditional libraries are developing applications, with coverage such as: comparing the collection development approaches of Google Books and Hathi Trust Appplications, such as MDL for research in digital humanities, catalog integration through the Google Book API, Culturenomics and the Google Ngram viewer. 4 case studies of library projects with Google Books"

"Exploring Digital Libraries is a highly readable, thought-provoking authorative and in-depth treatment of the digital library arena that provides an up-to-date overview of the progress, nature and future impact of digital libraries, from their collections and technology-centered foundations over two decades ago to their emergent, community-centered engagement with the social web."--pub. desc.

''Recent OCLC surveys show that less than 2 percent of library users begin their search on a library website, which is why search engine optimization (SEO) is so crucial. And though a survey of faculty researchers at four major universities showed that most consider Google and Google Scholar amazingly effective for their research, low Google Scholar indexing ratios for library institutional repositories is widespread because it ignores common library metadata. Arlitsch and OBrien, who have presented and published widely on the topic, show how to ensure that high-value content is visible to reseachers''--Provided by publisher.

"The skills of digital librarianship are more crucial than ever, and these same skills are in high demand outside the field, from tech startups undertaking digitization projects to digital humanities centers bringing together professors, computer scientists, and information technologists. Map out your career in this fast-growing field with the full range of perspectives gathered in this clear, concise overview of the core concepts and competencies of digital librarianship. Twenty-one experienced practitioners from a variety of settings offer realistic views of today s job market, typical project dynamics, and employer expectations."

Hider shows how information resources are organized through their descriptions, providing an overview of both the process and the product as they function in the contemporary information environment.

A huge investment has been made in digitizing scholarly and cultural heritage materials through initiatives based in museums, libraries and archives, as well as higher education institutions. The 'Digital Economy' is an important component of institutional planning, and much attention is given to the investment in digital projects and programmes. However, few initiatives have examined the actual use, value and impact of digital collections, and the role of digital collections in the changing information environment. As the creative, cultural and educational sector faces a period of restricted funding, it is timely to re-examine the use of the digital collections that have been created in the past twenty years, and to consider their value to the institutions that host them and to the communities of users they serve. This book brings together a group of international experts to consider the following key issues: What is the role of digital resources in the research life cycle? Do the arts and humanities face a 'data deluge'? How are digital collections to be sustained over the long term? How is use and impact to be assessed? What is the role of digital collections in the 'digital economy'? How is public engagement with digital cultural heritage materials to be assessed and supported? This book will be of interest to academics, librarians, archivists and the staff of cultural heritage organizations, as well as funders and other key stakeholders with an interest in the development and long term sustainability of digital collections.

"This book is crucial to understanding changes and the new expectations that library users have in the 21st century, including identifying, implementing and updating new technologies, understanding copyright and fair use laws, creating metadata for access to digital collections, and meeting user needs"

"In this book, a comprehensive review of various legal issues concerning digital libraries is presented"

Aimed at professional librarians and archivists, this book explores how to connect students and faculty with the archival and digital collections of their university's library. Key sections include: how to look at archives in a digital world; reaching out to faculty to get them to use archival and digital resources; working with students and how to best deliver instruction; creating lessons and assignments; assessment how to gauge your successes and learn from your failures. This book provides librarians and archivists with the robust tools they need to develop a comprehensive workshop program aimed at connecting students with archival and digital collections.

"This book provides tools to complement an organization's burgeoning information treasuries, exploring new frontiers by looking at social and economic aspects of digital libraries and their sustainability"

"How to Build a Digital Library is the only book that offers all the knowledge and tools needed to construct and maintain a digital library, regardless of the size or purpose. It is the perfectly self-contained resource for individuals, agencies, and institutions wishing to put this powerful tool to work in their burgeoning information treasuries. The Second Edition reflects new developments in the field as well as in the Greenstone Digital Library open source software. In Part I, the authors have added an entire new chapter on user groups, user support, collaborative browsing, user contributions, and so on. There is also new material on content-based queries, map-based queries, cross-media queries. There is an increased emphasis placed on multimedia by adding a "digitizing" section to each major media type. A new chapter has also been added on "internationalization," which will address Unicode standards, multi-language interfaces and collections, and issues with non-European languages (Chinese, Hindi, etc.). Part II, the software tools section, has been completely rewritten to reflect the new developments in Greenstone Digital Library Software, an internationally popular open source software tool with a comprehensive graphical facility for creating and maintaining digital libraries."

"This forward-looking new resource explores the future of research libraries, academic librarianship, and research collections. Editor Barbara I. Dewey, the Dean of Libraries at University of Tennessee, Knoxville, compiles a team of leading experts to address a broad range of key concepts and ideas that are crucial for successfully transitioning the field of higher education into today's constantly changing multicultural environment. Key chapters include coverage of: transforming services and spaces; key relationships with senior campus administrators; organizational development and leadership; scholarly communications. The deep experience and varied expertise of the authors make this required reading for academic librarians"

If your patrons really understood how much we make available to them online, they wouldn't go to alternative information providers and they wouldn't wonder where "all that money" for libraries goes. But our online systems don't make e-resources very accessible. To get your patrons to use the resources to their fullest potential-- and clamor for more-- you need to develop an e-resource marketing plan. Kennedy and LaGuardia are here to help you do-it-yourself.

Digital collections have already changed the ways users access and interact with an institution's materials. And small or medium-sized libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies face a unique set of challenges in regards to digital collections. They may have been unable to jump on the digitization bandwagon at its beginning due to competing priorities or lack of resources, and may now be struggling to get a digitization program in place to meet the evolving needs and expectations of their own users. The good news is that digital projects can scale down to fit the size of any organization. Providing an entry point for librarians, archivists, and curators who are new to digitization, Monson's guide shows how even smaller institutions can successfully endeavor to make their content digitally accessible. Clearing aside the jargon and acronyms to hone in on the practicals, this book will help readers get a digitization program off the ground, offering guidance on: how to efficiently harness existing workflows, especially in departments seeing a decline in workload; the pros and cons of the two common service models for state and regional digital repositories; how to evaluate and choose among the digital asset management systems, comparing four proprietary and six open source systems; hardware options for image capture; choices in metadata models MODS, VRA Core, Dublin Core Element Set, and EAD; understanding the characteristics of various file formats and using them effectively to create master and derivative files; bitstream copying, data redundancy and other strategies to safeguard digital files against media degradation and technological obsolescence; and Section 108 copyright exemptions for cultural heritage institutions. This guide to digitization fundamentals will ensure that readers gain a solid grasp of the knowledge and resources available for getting started on their own digital collection projects.

"Designed to address the practical operational and planning issues related to DRM, this guide explores the critical issues and challenges faced by librarians. After reading it, librarians will better understand: the digital content rights protection scheme; the various DRM technologies and how they are used; how to use authentication and authorization standards, strategies, and technologies; and, the privacy and security issues related to DRM. Edited by two librarians who also hold law degrees, this is a best practices guide for front-line librarians on how to best respond to the impact of DRM schemes on collection development, staffing, budget, service, and other library concerns."

Laying the Foundation: Digital Humanities in Academic Libraries examines the library's role in the development, implementation, and instruction of successful digital humanities projects. It pays special attention to the critical role of librarians in building sustainable programs. It also examines how libraries can support the use of digital scholarship tools and techniques in undergraduate education. Academic libraries are nexuses of research and technology; as such, they provide fertile ground for cultivating and curating digital scholarship. However, adding digital humanities to library service models requires a clear understanding of the resources and skills required. Integrating digital scholarship into existing models calls for a reimagining of the roles of libraries and librarians. In many cases, these reimagined roles call for expanded responsibilities, often in the areas of collaborative instruction and digital asset management, and in turn these expanded responsibilities can strain already stretched resources. Laying the Foundation provides practical solutions to the challenges of successfully incorporating digital humanities programs into existing library services. Collectively, its authors argue that librarians are critical resources for teaching digital humanities to undergraduate students and that libraries are essential for publishing, preserving, and making accessible digital scholarship.

This book provides strategic insights drawn from librarians who are meeting the challenge of digital scholarship, utilizing the latest technologies and creating new knowledge in partnership with researchers, scholars, colleagues and students.

Digital Literacy and Digital Inclusion: Information Policy and the Public Library examines the interrelationships between digital literacy, digital inclusion, and public policy. This book emphasizes the impacts of these policy decisions on the ability of individuals and communities to successfully participate in the information society.

"Since the National Science Foundation joined the National Institutes of Health in requiring that grant proposals include a data management plan, academic librarians have been inundated with related requests from faculty and campus-based grant consulting offices. Data management is a new service area for many library staff, requiring careful planning and implementation. This guide offers a start-to-finish primer on understanding, building, and maintaining a data management service, showing another way the academic library can be invaluable to researchers. Krier and Strasser of the California Digital Library guide readers through every step of a data management plan by: Offering convincing arguments to persuade researchers to create a data management plan, with advice on collaborating with them ; Laying out all the foundations of starting a service, complete with sample data librarian job descriptions and data management plans ; Providing tips for conducting successful data management interviews ; Leading readers through making decisions about repositories and other infrastructure ; Addressing sensitive questions such as ownership, intellectual property, sharing and access, metadata, and preservation. This LITA guide will help academic librarians work with researchers, faculty, and other stakeholders to effectively organize, preserve, and provide access to research data"--Provided by publisher.

"This book provides relevant theoretical and practical details from an international perspective on the current e-resources landscape, offering a detailed discussion of the specific aspects of e-resources management"

"This book offers a global perspective on the development and design of a digital library and highlights its benefits over a traditional library"

"This book addresses the challenges with digital libraries, as well as describes the recent developments in the design, construction, and evaluation of these libraries in various environments"

Can an algorithm edit a journal? Can a library exist without books? Can students build and manage their own learning management platforms? Can a conference be held without a program? Can Twitter replace a scholarly society? As recently as the mid-2000s, questions like these would have been unthinkable. But today serious scholars are asking whether the institutions of the academy as they have existed for decades, even centuries, aren't becoming obsolete. Every aspect of scholarly infrastructure is being questioned, and even more importantly, being hacked. Sympathetic scholars of traditionally disparate disciplines are canceling their association memberships and building their own networks on Facebook and Twitter. Journals are being compiled automatically from self-published blog posts. Newly minted Ph.D.s are forgoing the tenure track for alternative academic careers that blur the lines between research, teaching, and service. Graduate students are looking beyond the categories of the traditional CV and building expansive professional identities and popular followings through social media. Educational technologists are "punking" established technology vendors by rolling out their own open source infrastructure. Hacking the Academy will both explore and contribute to ongoing efforts to rebuild scholarly infrastructure for a new millennium.

The easy-to-use tools in Springshare's LibGuides help you organize webpages, improve students' research experience and learning, and offer an online community of librarians sharing their work and ideas. Editors Dobbs, Sittler, and Cook have recruited expert contributors to address specific applications, creating a one-stop reference.

Laura Solomon will help you give a compelling answer to your patron's question, "What's in it for me?" with advice on such topics as: 5 characteristics of effective content marketing; 4 methods of audience assessment; How to optimize content for sharing; Meaningful metrics for the library context; Elements of an editorial calendar for sustainable content; How to create once and re-purpose many times; 5 common mistakes and how to avoid them; Template for creating personas; First-hand accounts from library marketers"