Digitizing your collection is not only a great way to increase access to your materials, it also engages patrons on a whole new level and helps communicate your library's value. But with staff time and resources already spread thin, it can be a challenge to plan and undertake a digitization initiative. The good news is that public libraries across the country have done just that. Here, the authors share lessons and tips for success, showing the way to getting your collection online. This book explains why public libraries should take digitization seriously, listing key points that can be used to get stakeholders on board; points out what you should consider before undertaking a digitization project; discusses copyright and other access-related issues; shows how public libraries are handling funding and finding collaborative partners; shares ways that libraries have used digitization projects for community outreach and to promote collections; and offers advice on marketing and media.

A collection of key introductory readings of historic preservation literature. Since the essays are presented in an historical timeline, the reader discovers the roots of many current debates. By bringing together material from a variety of sources, this text represents the depth and scope of this intellectually rich field.

"This collection of thought-provoking essays by visionary and innovative library practitioners covers theory, research, and best practices in collection development, examining how it has evolved, identifying how some librarians are creatively responding to these changes, and predicting what is coming next"

''Fire, water, mold, construction problems, power-outages--mishaps like these can not only bring library services to a grinding halt, but can also destroy collections and even endanger employees. Preparing for the unexpected is the foundation of a library's best response. Expert Kahn comes to the rescue with this timely update of the best step-by-step, how-to guide for preparing and responding to all types of library disasters. This completely revised third edition offers: (1) Quick and efficient guidance for creating protocols and response plans tailored to your own institution; (2) Pointers for handling all kinds of library materials when damaged; (3) The latest information on preparing for technology recovery; (4) Up-to-date information on prevention equipment and materials; and (5) Dozens of reproducible checklists and forms, and a comprehensive list of resources. Kahn's guide gives libraries the tools they need to face any emergency, no matter the size or scope''--Provided by publisher.

Defining twenty-first century emergencies and disasters -- Defining twenty-first century emergencies and disasters in library environments -- Planning, prevention, response, and recovery -- Emergency/disaster action plans -- Integrating emergency/disaster planning into the organization -- Day one/day of : responding to emergency/disaster events, both internal and external -- Day two and beyond.

The research project and disaster management : introduction -- Disaster management and archives, libraries, and museums : context -- The situation in the UK : overview -- The worldwide situation : overview -- The disaster control plan -- Findings : key themes -- Planning for the future -- Sources of information.

1 book (xxxiii,117 p. : ill. ; 27 cm.), 1 bottle of pH-neutral adhesive, 1 document-cleaning pad, 1 box archival transparent mending tape, 1 box archival mounting and hinging tape, 1 spool red cotton library tape, 1 bone folder, 1 art gum eraser, 1 white eraser, 1 Pink Pearl eraser, 1 stainless steel microspatula, 3 sheets silicone release paper, 4 pieces binder's board, 1 piece archival mat board, 1 plastic cutting board, 3 sheets Canson paper (black, brown, gray), 1 pair cotton gloves, 2 bulldog clamps, 2 artist brushes, 1 bamboo brush, 1 flat 1" china bristle brush, 1 knitting needle, 1 glue stick ; in container 30 x 24 x 12 cm.

The environment -- The equipment -- The tools -- The supplies -- Parts of a book and types of damage -- Preservation awareness -- Preparing the text block -- Resewing -- Making the case -- Casing in -- The hollow tube -- Rebacking -- Saving provenance.

The basics: tools and techniques. -- Paper cleaning. -- Treatment of water-damaged books and papers and removal of mold and mildew. -- Paper mending. -- Hinge and spine repair. -- Protective enclosures. -- Appendix A: A disposable box of paper or polyester film. -- Appendix B: Supplies. -- Appendix C: Suppliers. -- Appendix D: Bibliography. -- Appendix E: Useful web sites.

Defining the library preservation program: policies and organization / Carolyn Clark Morrow -- Preservation programs in high-use library collections / Sara R. Williams -- Preservation program planning for archives and historical records repositories / Christine Ward -- Programs, priorities, and funding / Margaret Child -- Planning for preservation in libraries / Jutta Reed-Scott -- Issues in digital archiving / Peter S. Graham -- Environment and building design / Paul N. Banks -- Collections and stack management / Duane A. Watson.
Preservation management: emergency preparedness / Sally A. Buchanan -- Library and archives security / Richard Strassberg -- Exhibition policy and preparation / Roberta Pilette -- Selection for preservation / Carolyn Harris -- Conservation of general collections / Jan Merrill-Oldham and Nancy Carlson Schrock -- Commercial library binding / John F. Dean -- Preservation microfilming and photocopying / Eileen F. Usovicz and Barbara Lilley -- Special collections conservation / Eleanore Stewart -- Digitization for preservation and access / Paula de Stefano.
Preservation of information in nonpaper formats / Eleanore Stewart and Paul N. Banks.

Managing the documentary heritage : issues for the present and the future / John Feather -- Preservation policy and planning / Mirjam Foot -- Intangible heritage : museums and preservation / David Grattan and John Moses -- Surrogacy and the artefact / Marilyn Deegan -- Moving with the times in search of permanence / Yola de Lusenet -- Valuation model for paper conservation research : a new approach for setting research priorities / Henk J. Porck ... [et al.] -- Preservation of audiovisual media : traditional to interactive formats / Bob Pymm -- Challenges of managing the digitally born artefact / Barbara Reed -- Preserving cultural heritage in times of conflict / René Teijgeler -- Access and the social contract in memory institutions / Helen Forde -- Redefining 'the collection' in the 21st century / G.E. Gorman and Sydney J. Shep.