Usos de los diccionarios y enciclopedias
Los diccionarios y las enciclopedias son recursos de gran utilidad para las etapas introductorias de una investigación o para obtener una referencia rápida sobre algún tema. Ayudan a clarificar conceptos medulares sobre algún campo de estudio, y son herramientas excelentes para conocer el lenguaje especializado de un área académica.
A continuación presentamos algunos de los diccionarios y enciclopedias que posee nuestra biblioteca. Se incluyen recursos especializados en el campo de la educación, así como otros de carácter general y recursos dirigidos a otras disciplinas. Además, presentamos algunos diccionarios y enciclopedias disponibles en formato electrónico a través del Sistema de Bibliotecas.
An International Dictionary of Adult and Continuing Education Por
Containing over 5000 essential references to people, organisations, words and concepts in the field of adult education, this thorough and comprehensive volume represents the standard reference for anyone seeking information on the education of adults.
Biographical Dictionary of American Educators Por
"Ohles has succeeded admirably in supplying basic biographical information on an array of prominent American educators of the past and in gathering together and synthesizing materials hitherto available only in scattered sources." Reference Books Bulletin
Diccionario Akal de pedagogía Por 
Diccionario básico del deporte y la educación física Por 
Diccionario de psicología evolutiva y de la educación Por 
Diccionario de ciencias de la educación
Diccionario de las ciencias de la educación
Diccionario de educación Por 
Diccionario de términos educación especial Por 
Diccionario enciclopédico de educación Por 
Diccionario enciclopédico de educación especial Por 
Diccionario Fundamental de la Educacion Por 
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology Por
Written for professionals, parents, and other caretakers, this dictionary defines technical terms in non-technical language. The terminology represents that from fields like pediatrics, anatomy, genetics, orthopedics, neurology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, psychology, education, social work, family therapy, law, speech pathology, linguistics, audiology, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and nutrition. Chronic diseases which are not developmental in nature are not generally included. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Dictionary of Education Terms Por
This is an easy to use handbook with entries on the key words, ideas and terms in use in the world of education today.
Dictionary of Multicultural Education Por
Multiculturalism is one of the most widely discussed concepts in education today. Now, educators, university students, scholars, or anyone interested in multiculturalism can turn to the Dictionary of Multicultural Education to gain further information on and understanding of this important field. As the authoritative reference work on the subject, the Dictionary includes in-depth explanations of the history, use, and implications of more than 150 terms as defined by scholars prominent in the field. This reference work comprises terms of relevant legislation, educational-theoretical concepts and methodologies, and sociopolitical movements and conditions.
Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation Por
Provides definitions of more than 2,000 terms unique to special education and rehabilitation. This work provides listing of professional organizations and resources, and is a useful reference for those in the special education field.
Historical Dictionary of American Education Por
The history of American education is a vital and productive field of study. This reference book provides factual information about eminent people and important topics related to the development of American public, private, and parochial schools, covering elementary and secondary levels. In addition to major state and regional leaders and reformers, it includes biographies of significant national educators, philosophers, psychologists, and writers. Subjects embrace important ideas, events, institutions, agencies, and pedagogical trends that profoundly shaped American policies and perceptions regarding education. The more than 350 entries are arranged alphabetically and written by expert contributors. Each entry closes with a brief bibliography, and the volume ends with a list of works for further reading. Entries were drawn from a review of leading history of education textbooks and the History of Education Quarterly. These topics were further refined by comments from leading authorities and the contributors. Most of the contributors are established scholars in the history of education, curriculum and instruction, school law, educational administration, and American history; a few also work as public and private school teachers and thus bring their practical experience to their entries. The period covered begins in the colonial period and continues through the 1990s.
Psicología de la educación : [diccionario]
Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training Por
Searching for one quick reference for all of your athletic training needs? Looking for quick answers to questions that can be encountered daily in the profession? Need quick access to thousands of terms related to the field? The expanded and updated second edition of Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training contains all this and more! Pocket size, comprehensive, and user-friendly, this companion guide is essential for students and professionals in athletic training. Dr. Julie N. Bernier has taken over 2,100 terms and made them accessible in one book-no longer will you need to search multiple textbooks. Also included are 20 appendices on revised and new topics such as manual muscle testing and joint mobility positioning. Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training, Second Edition, with both text and visual references, provides the athletic training student and professional with a quick overview of the essential elements of injury assessment in the field Appendices include: The appendix on manual muscle testing includes photos and descriptions of manual muscle testing positioning and examiner stabilization, which will aid in the proper execution of the test. The appendix on special tests provides illustrations and descriptions of orthopedic special tests such as shoulder, elbow, spine, knee, and foot/ankle. Two appendices on peripheral nerve innervations-upper and lower extremity-include anatomical images that will assist the reader in visualizing the three dimensionality and location of peripheral nerve innervations. Plus 17 additional appendices on pertinent athletic training topics! Some of the additional appendices: Medical Roots Terminology Acronyms and Abbreviations Pharmacology Muscles-Origins, Insertion, Action
The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies Por
′...a welcome addition to the literature in the rapidly expanding field of sports studies. It is up to date, comprehensive, and well and clearly written. Though primarily sociological in its orientation, it will help students -postgraduate and undergraduate alike and their teachers as well - to establish connections between the various sub-disciplines and guide them to sources which will enable them to probe issues more deeply... It is a beautifully crafted book and is sure to be a hit with students and their teachers. It would not surprise me in the least, however, if it appealed to sports lovers more generally... It is a tour de force and I recommend it unreservedly′ - Eric Dunning, Professor in Sociology, The Centre for the Sociology of Sport, University of Leicester Sports studies is one of the fastest growing fields in higher education today. The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies brings a timely, much-needed and comprehensive tool for all students in this multi-disciplinary field. Each entry provides a basic definition, a guide to research themes and a clear account of the relevance of the concept in understanding sport. Not only indispensable for quick clarification of terms, it will give students a springboard for more in-depth research and critical analysis. It offers: " Cross referencing to assist critical thinking " A list of key readings for each entry " Expert definitions drawn from sociology, history, psychology, economics, management and business, politics and policy, physical education and health, and research methods. " Concise, student-friendly and authoritative entries. Covering sociology, history, psychology, politics, business, physical education, health and research methods, The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies provides the first one-stop reference guide for all students who study the social aspects of sport.
Dictionary of Education Por
Dictionary of Education is a comprehensive resource on John Dewey's approach to education. With smart, concise definitions pertaining to Dewey's philosophies, editor Ralph B. Winn has constructed a classic dictionary and indispensable tool for anyone who wants ready access to Dewey's most incisive thought on crucial points in the study of education.
Dictionary of Music Education Por
Irma Collins's Dictionary of Music Education is more than just a lexicon. It is a journey through time and the story of the evolution of music education, including entries on notable individuals, crucial terms, important events, and key organizations--a broad survey of the field. Collins includes information about a variety of English-speaking countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia, emphasizing the impact music education researchers and organizations have had on one another across the globe. Biographical entries profile musicians and music educators who were among the founders or first implementers of significant pedagogical tools and methods. Terms include standard concepts in the field of music education. Event and organization entries are those crucial to the advancement of music education regionally, nationally, and internationally. Dictionary of Music Education also includes a timeline, cross-references, and a significant bibliography. This work will interest anyone involved in the field of music education, from students and faculty to administrators and private instructors.
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
This book defines over 3,000 terms from the field of education to assist those charged with teaching students to become global citizens in a rapidly changing, technological society. * 3,050 A-Z entries, including over 400 new and revised definitions * 128 contributors from a variety of specialized areas related to education * Three tables and graphs to illustrate specific aspects of mathematics and evaluation in education * An introduction on education terminology by editors John W. Collins and Nancy Patricia O'Brien, distinguished librarians in the study of education * Author attributions for each definition * An extensive, updated bibliography of sources that identify and explain terms used within education
Education and Sociology Por
First Published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Enciclopedia de la educación preescolar
Enciclopedia general de la educación Por 
Encyclopedia of American Education Por
The only comprehensive reference to the development and present state of American education, ""Encyclopedia of American Education, Third Edition"" includes more than 2,000 entries spanning the colonial period to the present. This authoritative three-volume reference provides a wealth of information on virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education. Author Harlow G. Unger, one of the country's foremost education experts, has substantially updated existing entries and added more than 40 new entries. Appendixes include significant federal legislation, important U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and lists of undergraduate majors and graduate school programs. More than 10 new photographs have been added to this edition, and more than half a dozen experts in education served as editorial consultants for this encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education Por
This superbly illustrated Encyclopedia comprises the most comprehensive work yet available on bilingualism. Written in a concise and comprehensive style, it includes: - 117 main topics - 390 textboxes to illustrate the main topics - 228 profiles of languages in all countries of the world - 340 pictures, 35 maps, 98 graphs, 14 diagrams and over half a million words - one of the most up-to-date and extensive bibliographies on bilingualism - over 2,000 references - extensive glossary of 375 terms - plentiful examples and illustrations from around the world New areas and topics e.g. Information Technology and Bilingualism, Bilingualism and the Internet, Bilingualism and the Economy, Bilingual Professions, Religion and Bilingualism, Bilingualism and Tourism, Language Marketing.
Encyclopedia of Education
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration Por
SAGE Reference is proud to announce this major new collection in the fields of educational leadership and administration. The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught on PGCE courses and practiced in schools and colleges today. With over 600 entries, written by more than 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners and association officials, the two-volumes of this Encyclopedia represent the most comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration that has, as yet, been compiled. Key features: - represents a `knowledge dynamic′ of the field by presenting ideas and perspectives that are in the minds, hearts, and aspirations of those practicing in the profession; - includes a wide range of topics covering teaching and learning, curriculum, psychology and motivation, budgeting and finance, law, statistics, research, personnel management, planning, supervision, and much more; - contains over 75 biographical sketches of people whose ideas, aspirations, and lives have contributed much to the profession; - animates reader′s thinking and defines possibilities by presenting terms, ideas, concepts, research, and theories that are circulating in the field. The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration is a must-have reference for all academic libraries.
Encyclopedia of Language and Education Por
This volume seeks to enable language and education practitioners, researchers, and interested lay readers to understand the range of issues being pursued in language and education research and the array of methods employed in it. A major assumption of the volume is that both micro- and macro-perspectives and both social and linguistic levels of analysis are critical for an understanding of the interaction between language and education. It is organized in four parts, focusing in turn on language and education in relation to society, variation, culture, and interaction.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education Por
First published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of Special Education Por
This new edition of the American Library Association Top 25 References of the Year (1987) Award includes alphabetized entries covering the full gamut of special education research and practice. Entries include biographies, reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, cross-cultural issues, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, and much more
Escuela para maestros : enciclopedia de pedagogía práctica Por 
International Encyclopedia of Adult Education and Training Por
This Encyclopedia deals with the financing and organization of adult education and continuing vocational training throughout the world. The volume provides extensive coverage of lifespan development, cognition, adult learning, and theories and methods for the teaching of adults both now and in the future. Adult education and continuing vocational training are no longer considered as two separate fields and their merge has provoked increased attention on theories and practice, with particular focus on human resource development. This new edition draws on articles in The International Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd Edition (described by Choice as being "a premier resource when judged on virtually every criteria applied to a reference work"): all articles have been revised and updated. Adult education has undergone tremendous changes over the past decade, not only has expenditure and participation increased at a global level, but the field itself has also matured. Continuing vocational education and workplace learning have assumed increased significance, and as a result several new topics for research on adult education have emerged. The many changes in the field are reflected in this volume. The entries will not only cover the important concepts and definitions in the field but offer a disciplinary perspective on its development.
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature Por
The International Companion Encyclopedia answers these questions and provides comprehensive coverage of children's literature from a wide range of perspectives. Over 80 substantial essays by world experts include Iona Opie on the oral tradition, Gillian Avery on family stories and Michael Rosen on audio, TV and other media. The Companion covers a broad range of topics, from the fairy tale to critical theory, from the classics to comics. Structure The Companion is divided into five sections: 1) Theory and Critical Approaches 2) Types and Genres 3) The Context of Children's Literature 4) Applications of Children's Literature 5) The World of Children's Literature Each essay is followed by references and suggestions for further reading. The volume is fully indexed.
International Encyclopedia of Teaching and Teacher Education Por
This new Encyclopedia draws upon articles in The International Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd Edition (described by Choice as being "a premier resource when judged on virtually every criteria applied to a reference work") with revisions as well as new articles. The purpose of the volume is to provide classroom researchers, teacher educators, and teachers with a sound, reasonable body of knowledge that can be used to guide their efforts to understand and improve the teaching-learning process. While individual research studies may yield different results and recommendations the compilation of such studies by experts in the field provide useful guidelines within which researchers, teacher educators and teachers can operate. The entries in this encyclopedia will provide a body of knowledge to inform, guide and/or justify their teaching practices. The second edition is divided into two parts: teaching and teacher education. Part one contains eight sections: the nature and characteristics of teachers, theories and models of teaching, instructional programs and strategies, teaching skills and techniques, school and classroom factors, students and the teaching-learning process, teaching for specific objectives, and the study of teaching. Part two contains three sections: concepts and issues in teacher education, generic initial teacher education, and continuing teacher education.
Philosophy of Education Por
First Published in 1996. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
The International Encyclopedia of Teaching and Teacher Education Por 
Encyclopedia of Terminology for Educational Communications and Technology
The Encyclopedia of Terminology for Educational Communications and Technology is a volume of scholarly definitions and short discussions of approximately 180 key terms of the field. Each 200-500 word entry includes material such as the salient attributes of the term, any alternative views and interpretations of the term, and future trends. The definition discussions are supported with relevant literature from educational communications and technology and related fields, such as communications or educational psychology. Individual signed entries are written by over 50 established scholars from throughout the field and throughout the world. The terms included in the encyclopedia cover the many topics addressed by the field's practitioners and scholars. They encompass six general categories of educational technology content - foundational subjects, instructional design, technology and media, analysis and evaluation, management and organizational improvement, and research and theory.
BBC English Dictionary Por 
Cambridge Learner's Dictionary
A new edition of the acclaimed Cambridge Learner's Dictionary, fully updated with many new words and extra help with collocations. Ideal for PET and FCE preparation With clear definitions and thousands of examples that put the language into context, this dictionary is an invaluable companion. The Cambridge Learner's Dictionary CD-ROM includes the whole dictionary in a handy searchable format. You can listen to every word in British and American English - and even record yourself for comparison.
Diccionario de uso del español 3ª Ed Por
The dictionary of choice by Gabriel Garc#65533;a M#65533;rquez -"Moliner wrote, with her bare hands, the most complete, most useful, most diligent and most amusing dictionary of the Castilian language”. In this updated and revised 3rd edition 2-volume dictionary, we find important updates to the content and structure that allow for an easier use. Most notable are the 90,000+ entries, 190,000 meanings and sub-meanings, an updated block of synonyms, revised botanical and zoological appendix and the inclusion of additional appendixes. It also includes typographical changes to help during the reading or consulting process.
Diccionario didáctico avanzado del español Por 
Diccionario español-inglés inglés-español Por 
Multidiccionario de la lengua española Espasa : lengua española, sinónimos y antónimos, dudas, apéndices gramatical y ortográfico
Nueva enciclopedia de Puerto Rico Por 
The World Book Encyclopedia Por
State Department Publication 10644. Editor: James E. Miller. General editor: Davis S. Patterson. Provides historical documents concerning the foreign policy of the Johnson Administration. This volume focuses on Cyprus, Greece and Turkey.
PO Box 23302, Ave. Ponce de León San Juan PR, 00931
Comisión Estatal de Elecciones CEE-SA-2020-3538
Aprobado por la Comisión Estatal de Elecciones y el número de radicación correspondiente
