Applying Anthropology to Gender-Based Violence Por
Applying Anthropology to Gender-Based Violence: Global Responses, Local Practices addresses the gaps in theory, methods, and practices that are currently used to engage the problem of gender-based violence. This book complements the work carried out in the legal, social work, and medical fields by demonstrating how a focus on local issues and local responses can better inform a collaborative global response to the problem of gender-based violence. With chapters covering Africa, Asia, Latin and North America, and Oceania, it provides ample evidence that richly textured and qualitatively informed research can illuminate work that is more quantitative in scope. The volume illustrates the various ways scholars, practitioners, frontline workers, and policy makers can work together to end forms of violence in their local communities. The chapters in this volume demonstrate that the ways top-down responses to violence have been inadequate, and that solutions are available when the local historical, political, and social context is taken into consideration. Applying Anthropology to Gender-Based Violence contains useful insights that, when combined with the efforts of other disciplines, offer solutions to the problem of gender-based violence.
Domestic Violence and Abuse: a Reference Handbook Por
A comprehensive and timely resource for students, activists, educators, and advocates, Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a rich and scholarly assessment of this important social issue while also including stories and profiles for a more personal understanding. Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a thorough review of the most recent research about intimate partner violence. Additionally, a historical review provides readers with a sense of how views on domestic violence have changed over time and how different policies and practices have and have not been successful. Appropriate for readers at the high school level and above, the volume focuses on the scope, extent, and characteristics of domestic violence and offers several unique elements, including profiles of significant individuals, personal stories from advocates, activists and survivors, and a review of controversial issues. The volume also includes a chronology of key events, relevant data and documents, primary source data, and recommended resources. Compiles the most recent data about victims and offenders, thereby correcting many misconceptions about domestic violence Offers a timeline of critical events for readers to understand the history of the movement Includes primary source documents and personal stories, which help make the book beneficial to all readers Addresses the most common controversies in the field, allowing readers to support more informed positions
Domestic Violence Perpetrators Por
Domestic violence is a serious, widespread public, social and health problem that affects the lives of many women, children and men. There is also evidence to suggest it has one of the highest rates of recidivism. This comprehensive book provides an overview of what the research tells us about the perpetrators of domestic violence and what works, and what doesn't, in promoting positive change. Collecting together the most up-to-date evidence from the international literature and bringing psychological, sociological, gendered and socio-political theoretical perspectives to bear on the issue, the authors explore: - what domestic violence is, why it happens and how it can be measured - who the perpetrators of domestic violence are, including discussion of non-stereotypical patterns such as male victims, female perpetrators, couples where the abuse is mutual, and couples with abusive relationships who want the abuse to end but the relationship to be sustained - strategies for engaging perpetrators in interventions and for promoting behaviour change - evidence-informed interventions, programmes and policies for working with perpetrators - where robust evidence is lacking and more research needs to be undertaken. Domestic violence is a significant problem for those individuals and families whose life is affected by this issue, the social, health and criminal justice agencies that respond to it, and wider society which must bear the costs and its devastating effects. This volume is an important reference for all those researching and working with the victims, survivors and perpetrators of domestic violence, including academics and students from fields such as social work, sociology, criminology, psychology and social policy.
El acoso sexual: un aspecto olvidado de la violencia de género Por 
Gender Attitudes and Violence Against Women Por
York seeks to answer the question of the extent to which traditional beliefs about gender or gender roles are associated with increased levels of sexual assault and/or domestic violence. She also investigates the extent to which social capital serves as a protective factor with respect to the safety of women. The prevalence of traditional gender attitudes predicted rates of violence against women, specifically sexual assault and domestic violence, while social capital serves as a mitigating factor. In counties with less social capital and more traditional gender attitudes, there were substantial increases in sexual and physical assaults inflicted upon women by men. These findings confirm the theoretical literature on patriarchy and socialization into gender roles.
Gender Violence Por
Taking an anthropological perspective, this comprehensive book offers a highly readable and concise overview of what constitutes gender violence, its social context, and important directions in intervention and reform. Uses stories, personal accounts, case studies and a global perspective to provide a vivid and engaging portrait of forms of violence in gendered relationships Extensively covers many forms of gender violence including domestic violence, rape, murder, wartime sexual assault, prison and police violence, female genital cutting, dowry murders, female infanticide, "honor" killings, and sex trafficking Examines major approaches to diminishing gender violence such as criminalization, batterer retraining programs, and human rights interventions Highlights the role of social movements in defining the problem and mobilizing reforms in the US and internationally
Globalization and Its Impact on Violence Against Vulnerable Groups Por
Violence is most common when there is a power disparity between two groups of people, and those with less power are far more likely to become the victim in a violent situation. Environment has as much influence on whether or not violence will occur as the person or people involved, and this relationship has drawn the attention of researchers worldwide. Globalization and Its Impact on Violence Against Vulnerable Groups is an essential source that provides research that delves deeply into occurrences of violence and the environmental and personal influences that lead to violence in order to better understand and prevent it from happening. Featuring a wide range of topics such as e-blackmail, human displacement, and psychology, this book is ideal for criminologists, law enforcement, psychologists, therapists, academicians, sociologists, anthropologists, government officials, researchers, and students.
Hombres y Machos Por
Although patriarchy, machismo, and excessive masculine displays are assumed to be prevalent among Latinos in general and Mexicans in particular, little is known about Latino men or macho masculinity. Hombres y Machos: Masculinity and Latino Culture fills an important void by providing an integrated view of Latino men, masculinity, and fatherhood--in the process refuting many common myths and misconceptions.Examining how Latino men view themselves, Alfredo Mirand#65533; argues that prevailing conceptions of men, masculinity, and gender are inadequate because they are based not on universal norms but on limited and culturally specific conceptions. Findings are presented from in-depth personal interviews with Latino men (specifically, fathers with at least one child between the ages of four and eighteen living at home) from four geographical regions and from a broad cross-section of the Latino population: working and middle class, foreign-born and native-born. Topics range from views on machos and machismo to beliefs regarding masculinity and fatherhood. In addition to reporting research findings and placing them within a historical context, Mirand#65533; draws important insights from his own life.Hombres y Machos calls for the development of Chicano/Latino men's studies and will be a significant and provocative addition to the growing literature on gender, masculinity, and race. It will appeal to the general reader and is bound to be an important supplementary text for courses in ethnic studies, women's studies, men's studies, family studies, sociology, psychology, social work, and law.
Killing Women Por
The essays in Killing Women: The Visual Culture of Gender and Violence find important connections in the ways that women are portrayed in relation to violence, whether they are murder victims or killers. The book's extensive cultural contexts acknowledge and engage with contemporary theories and practices of identity politics and debates about the ethics and politics of representation itself. Does representation produce or reproduce the conditions of violence? Is representation itself a form of violence? This book adds significant new dimensions to the characterization of gender and violence by discussing nationalism and war, feminist media, and the depiction of violence throughout society.
Los programas y/o tratamientos de los agresores en supuestos de violencia de género Por 
Researching Gender Violence Por
In this edited collection leading authors in the field draw on their experience to address key methodological questions and challenges that have arisen from the recent proliferation of research projects and government funded initiatives on violence against women. Topics include: evaluation research and feminist methodology; using quantitative and qualitative approaches; ethics, safety and access in sensitive research; interviewing practitioners, perpetrators, policy makers, and survivors (including children, women and young people); utilising discourse analysis to interpret data; undertaking cross national and comparative research; practical guidelines for practitioners/academics wishing to consult with women survivors; gearing research to facilitate positive change in policy and practice; and using the media for dissemination. increased focus on gender related violence politically and academicallythis book addresses head on the complex methodological issues involvedleading experts in the field as contributors
Violencia de género, justicia restaurativa y mediación Por 
Programa Gener@-T : programa socieducativo para la prevención de la violencia de género en parejas adolescentes Por 
Space, Place, and Violence Por
Direct, interpersonal violence is a pervasive, yet often mundane feature of our day-to-day lives; paradoxically, violence is both ordinary and extraordinary. Violence, in other words, is often hidden in plain sight. Space, Place, and Violence seeks to uncover that which is too apparent: to critically question both violent geographies and the geographies of violence. With a focus on direct violence, this book situates violent acts within the context of broader political and structural conditions. Violence, it is argued, is both a social and spatial practice. Adopting a geographic perspective, Space, Place, and Violence provides a critical reading of how violence takes place and also produces place. Specifically, four spatial vignettes - home, school, streets, and community - are introduced, designed so that students may think critically how 'race', sex, gender, and class inform violent geographies and geographies of violence.
Domestic Violence and Abuse: a Reference Handbook Por
A comprehensive and timely resource for students, activists, educators, and advocates, Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a rich and scholarly assessment of this important social issue while also including stories and profiles for a more personal understanding. Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a thorough review of the most recent research about intimate partner violence. Additionally, a historical review provides readers with a sense of how views on domestic violence have changed over time and how different policies and practices have and have not been successful. Appropriate for readers at the high school level and above, the volume focuses on the scope, extent, and characteristics of domestic violence and offers several unique elements, including profiles of significant individuals, personal stories from advocates, activists and survivors, and a review of controversial issues. The volume also includes a chronology of key events, relevant data and documents, primary source data, and recommended resources. Compiles the most recent data about victims and offenders, thereby correcting many misconceptions about domestic violence Offers a timeline of critical events for readers to understand the history of the movement Includes primary source documents and personal stories, which help make the book beneficial to all readers Addresses the most common controversies in the field, allowing readers to support more informed positions
Globalization and Its Impact on Violence Against Vulnerable Groups Por
Violence is most common when there is a power disparity between two groups of people, and those with less power are far more likely to become the victim in a violent situation. Environment has as much influence on whether or not violence will occur as the person or people involved, and this relationship has drawn the attention of researchers worldwide. Globalization and Its Impact on Violence Against Vulnerable Groups is an essential source that provides research that delves deeply into occurrences of violence and the environmental and personal influences that lead to violence in order to better understand and prevent it from happening. Featuring a wide range of topics such as e-blackmail, human displacement, and psychology, this book is ideal for criminologists, law enforcement, psychologists, therapists, academicians, sociologists, anthropologists, government officials, researchers, and students.
Handbook of Research on Women's Issues and Rights in the Developing World Por
Equal rights for women are an essential aspect for establishing strong societies. By making strides on these issues, nations are helping to create valuable civilizations for their own population to establish livelihoods in. The Handbook of Research on Women's Issues and Rights in the Developing World is a pivotal scholarly resource that discusses the current issues facing women's rights in developing nations, as well as suggestions for improvements on these problems. Featuring in-depth discussions on relevant topics such as working-class women, gender theories, and international migration, this publication is an ideal resource for academicians, students, and researchers that are interested in learning more about the current challenges to the women's rights movement, and how to best combat them.
PO Box 23302, Ave. Ponce de León San Juan PR, 00931
Comisión Estatal de Elecciones CEE-SA-2020-3538
Aprobado por la Comisión Estatal de Elecciones y el número de radicación correspondiente
