Primera Guerra Mundial | World War I - Colección de Documentos y Mapas - LibGuides at University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras Campus

Disponibles en la Colección de Documentos y Mapas

The U.S. Army in World War I fact sheet. Por Center of Military History
Número de clasificación: D 114.2:W 19/3
Fecha de publicación: [2017?]
The U.S. Army in the World War I era Por Center of Military History
Número de clasificación: D 114.7/6:AR 6
Fecha de publicación: 2016
Joining the Great War, April 1917-April 1918 Por Eric B. Setzekorn
Número de clasificación: D 114.7/6:J 66
Fecha de publicación: 2017
The U.S. Army Campaigns of World War I: The Mexican Expedition, 1916-1917 Por Julie Irene Prieto
Número de clasificación: D 114.7/6: M 57
Fecha de publicación: 2016
U.S. Army Campaigns of World War I: St. Mihiel, 12-16 September 1918 Por Donald A. Carter Early in the morning of 12 September 1918, nearly half a million American soldiers crouched in forward trench lines along a sixtyfive-kilometer section of the Western Front, waiting for the signal to advance. The target of the American-planned and Americanexecuted operation was a massive salient that had bedeviled the Allies since late 1914. Until this point in the World War, members of the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) had not fought in a formation larger than a corps, and then only under French or British leadership. Now, as part of the newly formed American First Army under the command of General John J. Pershing, they prepared to launch an operation that was, according to one historian, “America’s first truly great modern battle.” The four-day offensive would not only serve as a baptism of fire for the First Army but also demonstrate to the Allies and the Germans alike that the Americans were capable of operating as an independent command. The action showed how far the U.S. Army had progressed in its evolution from a frontier constabulary to a modern combined arms maneuver force, and it helped set the stage for the grand Allied offensive that would seize the initiative all along the Western Front and blaze a path toward ultimate victory in the war.
Número de clasificación: D 114.7/6:SA 2 M
ISBN: 9780160946516
Fecha de publicación: 2018
U.S. Army in the World War 1917-1919 Por Center of Military History
Fecha de publicación: 1948
Disponibles en la Colección: Volúmenes 3, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 y 17.

Recursos Adicionales

American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I The Nation's Forum recordings were made between 1918 and 1920 in an effort to preserve the voices of prominent Americans; in most cases, they are the only surviving recordings of a speaker. The project originated with St. Louis attorney Guy Golterman (1879-1967), an active supporter of the opera and other performing arts. With the endorsement of the Department of State's Committee on Public Information -- a governmental propaganda ministry -- the Nation's Forum sought speakers, and the Columbia Graphophone Company pressed and distributed the recordings under the Nation's Forum label.
Experiencing War: World War I, The Great War (Stories from the Veterans History Project) World War I is among the least documented wars of those covered by the Veterans History Project, and the number of collections relating its experiences are not likely to grow dramatically. Because all but a handful of WWI vets are no longer alive, oral history interviews are out of the question, so we must rely on the generosity of relatives and friends of deceased veterans to donate written accounts in letters, diaries, and memoirs, as well as precious collections of photographs.
George S. Patton Papers: Diaries, 1910 to 1945 The diaries of U.S. army officer George S. Patton (1885-1945) are part of a larger collection of Patton papers available for research use onsite in the Manuscript Reading Room of the Library of Congress. The entire collection spans the years 1807-1979, with the bulk of the papers concentrated from 1904 to 1945. The collection documents Patton's military career, including his attendance at the United States Military Academy at West Point, 1904-1909; his service on the Mexican border as a member of John J. Pershing's Mexican Punitive Expedition, 1916-1917; his service as an aide-de-camp to Pershing and later as a tank commander in World War I, 1917-1919; and his military career from 1938 to 1945. The majority of the papers chronicle Patton's World War II service and his success as one of America's most skillful combat commanders of armored troops.
Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures, 1914 to 1919 This online collection is drawn from three primary sources: The War of the Nations: Portfolio in Rotogravure Etchings, a volume published by the New York Times shortly after the armistice that compiled selected images from their "Mid-Week Pictorial" supplements of 1914-19; Sunday rotogravure sections from the New York Times for 1914-19; and Sunday rotogravure sections from the New York Tribune for 1916-19.
Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918 to 1919 This online collection includes the complete seventy-one-week run of The Stars and Stripes World War I edition. The Stars and Stripes was published in France by the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) of the United States Army from February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.
World War I (Photographs) These photographs and posters were selected from the National Archives holdings of World War I materials.

Colección de Documentos y Mapas: Primera Guerra Mundial | World War I

Disponibles en la Colección de Documentos y Mapas

Recursos Adicionales